All Databases A-Z

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z | All
Bacteriology Abstracts

Note: New interface! Check out the quick start overview [pdf] and YouTube tutorials of the new interface.

Aimed at researchers and clinicians, Bacteriology Abstracts covers a range of topics from bacterial immunology and vaccinations to diseases of man and animals. Provides access to clinical findings as well as pure bacteriology, biochemistry, and genetics. (Updated monthly)

BBC Shakespeare (via Ambrose Video)

Streaming video of the 37 classic BBC Shakespeare productions. Includes closed captioning so you can view the text along with the video.

Beilstein
As of Jan 2011, access to Beilstein is only via Reaxys.
Beilstein is the major database to organic chemistry, indexing three primary data domains: substances, reactions, and literature. The substance domain stores structural information with all associated facts and literature references, including chemical, physical, and bioactivity data. The reaction domain details the preparation of substances, enabling scientists to investigate specific reaction pathways with reaction search queries. The literature domain includes citations, titles, and abstracts, which are hyperlinked to the substance and reaction domain entries. Beilstein contains information about more than 7 million organic chemical compounds, from 1771 to the present (abstracts from 1980-current). Reactions, chemical and physical properties, all with corresponding literature references, are available.
Berg Fashion Library

The Berg Fashion Library is a unique online portal which offers fully cross-searchable access to an expanding range of Berg content collections including the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion online, e-books, reference works, images, and much more.

Best's Library Center
Best's Insurance Reports
Biblical Archaeology Society Archive
The BAS Archive contains the editorial content of each issue of the bimonthly magazines Biblical Archaeology Review (1975-2003), Bible Review (1985-2003) and Archaeology Odyssey (1998-2003), as well as five books published by the Biblical Archaeology Society:

-Ancient Israel: From Abraham to the Roman Destruction of the Temple
-Aspects of Monotheism: How God is One
-Feminist Approaches to the Bible
-The Rise of Ancient Israel
-The Search for Jesus: Modern Scholarship Looks at the Gospels
Bibliografia Mesoamericana
A groundbreaking indexing project jointly developed between the Foundation for the Advancement of Mesoamerican Studies (FAMSI) and the University of Pennsylvania's Museum Library. The Mesoamerican Bibliography provides access to the scholarly literature on ancient Mesoamerica and colonial Mexico and Guatemala published since 1960. "Coverage includes books, edited volumes, festschrifts, journal articles, essays in collected works, dissertations and theses, obituaries (2 pages +), CD-ROMs, audio and video tapes, and films pertaining to Mesoamerica. It will not include book reviews, sheet maps, working papers and other gray literature, juvenile literature, newspapers, unpublished manuscripts, and other unpublished materials."
Bibliographie de Civilisation Medievale
Note: Follow above link, then click "Enter Databases" button to access this resource
Concurrent user limit: 3
The Bibliographie de Civilisation Medievale aims to provide a comprehensive, current bibliography of monographs worldwide and listings of miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften). It currently comprises 50,000 titles from 1958 to 2009; i.e. the whole of the relevant elements from the famous bibliography in the Cahiers de civilisation médiévale. Every reference has been fully classified by date, subject and location, and provides full bibliographical records.
Bibliography of American Literature
The Bibliography of American Literature provides more than 37,000 records of the literary works of 281 American writers from the period of the Revolution to 1930. It aims to include all first editions, chronologically arranged, of each author covered. In addition, it includes any book (pamphlet, broadside, etc.) containing the first appearance of any prose (except letters) or poetry by such authors. It records variant issues and states of the first editions, as well as details of illustrations and maps, and standard and variant publishers' bindings. European editions in English are included as and where necessary. Reprints which might be confused with first editions, and subsequent editions containing important textual changes by the author, are briefly noted. A selective list of bibliographical, biographical and critical works is also given for each author. Certain categories of material, including periodical and newspaper publications, unrevised reprints and translations into other languages, have been excluded.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
The online Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS), references western-language monographs, articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia that have been published since 1971. (Updated quarterly)
Bibliography of the History of Art
Note: As of 4/1/10, the Bibliography of the History of Art is now being provided directly via the J. Paul Getty website.
BHA is the most comprehensive art bibliography worldwide, covering European and American art from late antiquity to the present. This database indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from over 4,300 periodicals. Citations encompass fine arts, architecture, decorative & applied arts, graphic arts, folk and popular art. Bibliography of the History of Art includes and extends the coverage of its two predecessor art indexes: Répertoire d'Art et d'Archéologie (RAA) from 1973 to 1989 and International Repertory of the Literature of Art (RILA) from 1975 to 1989.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Biography and Genealogy Master Index (BGMI) is an index for learning where to look for biographical material on people from all time periods, geographical locations and fields of endeavor. It indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world.

Concurrent user limit: 4
Biography in Context (Biography Resource Center)

Integrates hundreds of thousands of biographies drawn from over 135 well-known Thomson Gale print sources including Contemporary Authors and over 300 full-text periodicals.

Biography Reference Bank [via EbscoHost]

Note: Biography Reference Bank will no longer be availalble as of January 2014.  As an alternative, please consider using Biography in Context or one of the many other Biography resources provided by Temple Libraries.

Biography Reference Bank is an in-depth full-text biographical resource, providing comprehensive coverage of people in the news and a full range of history-makers. It covers over 236,000 individuals, plus more than 36,000 images. The content of the database comes from a wide variety of Wilson resources, featuring biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches (Wilson's Speeches of the American Presidents), or obituaries. The entire range of journal content that is indexed at Wilson is examined daily for content appropriate for inclusion in this database.

Biological Abstracts
Biological Abstracts is a comprehensive reference database covering life sciences journal literature. Disciplines covered include Botany, Microbiology, Pharmacology, Biochemistry, Evolutionary ecology, Neurology, and Toxicology. Temple has access to abstracts from 1997 forward.
BioMed Central
Publisher of over 150 open-access journals in biomedicine. All research articles are freely available.
BIOSIS Citation Index (1994-present) New

Covers all major areas in the life sciences, with broad coverage in molecular and cell biology, pharmacology, endocrinology, genetics, neurosciences, infectious diseases, ecology and organismal biology. 
*Cited reference searching with a summary table to easily keep track of citation counts *Seamless access through one powerful search platform to unique citations not available elsewhere *Over 5,300 high quality journals and serials back to 1926 *Over 21 million records *Over 2.6 million documents from meetings and conferences *Abstracts for over 90% of the journal material *Non-journal coverage, including abstract meetings, as well as books (serials and monographs), and  U.S. patents.

Biotechnology Research Abstracts
Note: New interface! Check out the quick start overview [pdf] and YouTube tutorials of the new interface..
Biotechnology Research Abstracts provides access to international research on all aspects of biochemical, medical, and microbial technology as applied to bioengineering, medicine, agriculture and environmental science.
Black Abolitionist Papers
Covering the period 1830-1865, Black Abolitionist Papers presents the massive, international impact of African American activism against slavery, in the writings and publications of the activists themselves. The approximately 15,000 articles, documents, correspondence, proceedings, manuscripts, and literary works of almost 300 Black abolitionists show the full range of their activities in the United States, Canada, England, Scotland, Ireland, France and Germany.
Black Drama

1,200 plays, almost a quarter previously unpublished, have been carefully selected by well known experts such as James V. Hatch to create this landmark collection. The collection includes the complete works of leading playwrights such as Amiri Baraka and Ed Bullins. Fielded, searchable performance and cast information, materials by Black writers from Africa, the Caribbean and the United Kingdom, in addition to African Americans are included. (Updated one or two times a year)

Black Drama Second Edition
Black Drama, Second Edition contains approximately 1,462 plays by 233 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.
Black Historical Newspapers

Note: New interface! Check out the quick start overview and YouTube tutorials of the new interface.

Black Historical Newspapers offers primary source material from American history and African-American culture, history, politics, and the arts. It allows for study of major movements from the Harlem Renaissance to Civil Rights, and for exploration of everyday life as written in the Atlanta Daily World, Baltimore Afro-American, Chicago Defender, New York Amsterdam News, Philadelphia Tribune, and Pittsburgh Courier.

Black Literature Index
Black Literature Index is an online index to the Chadwyck-Healey Black Literature: 1827-1940 microfiche collection. The Black Literature project documents the fiction, poetry and literary reviews which appeared in black owned and edited newspapers published in the United States between 1827 and 1940. A team of researchers at Harvard University, under the supervision of Henry Louis Gates Jr, have discovered over nine hundred such publications.
Black Short Fiction and Folklore
Black Short Fiction and Folklore contains short stories and folktales by African, African American, and Caribbean authors. When complete this collection should have approximately 8000 works of short fiction. When complete, it will feature the English-language literature of more than 15 countries, with additional special units of French and Portuguese literature from the African continent. In addition, the collection will include literature in languages that have their origins in African countries and are still present in some regions today, such as the Gullah language of South Carolina.

Black Short Fiction and Folklore will include short stories published from the mid-1900s to the present. In addition to these published works, the database will feature previously uncollected works and unpublished manuscripts by many authors. Fables and folktales, which arise from the oral traditions of many peoples and date back many hundreds of years, will also be widely represented within the collection. Researchers will be able to follow their development in both Africa and the New World.

Published by the Alexander Street Press and produced in collaboration with the University of Chicago, Black Short Fiction and Folklore has extensive searching capabilities. Black Short Fiction and Folklore uses PhiloLogic software, developed at the University of Chicago, to enable in-depth browsing and searching of both the bibliographic and the full-text elements within the database.
Black Studies Center
The Black Studies Center includes the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, a series of essays about the development of Black Studies as an academic field; historical backfiles of The Chicago Defender; and the International Index to Black Periodicals Full Text, a source for scholarly articles in the humanities and social sciences about the Black experience in the United States, Africa, and the Caribbean.
Black Thought and Culture

Landmark electronic collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major black leaders in North America. Works by teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures form the corpus. Unlike their white counterparts, black leaders have had to wrestle with the issues of their race alongside the issues of leadership in their chosen professions. They have been forced to defend positions, justify actions, correct perceptions, protest injustice, celebrate cultural achievement, and confront the agenda of a white-dominated society.

Encompasses 100,000 pages of materials, beginning with the ideas of Frederick Douglass and including those of W.E.B. Du Bois, Carter G. Woodson, Alain Locke, Sidney Bechet, Paul Robeson, Booker T. Washington, Marcus Garvey, Langston Hughes, Sammy Davis, Jr., Charlotte Hawkins Brown, Dorothy Height, Thurgood Marshall, A. Philip Randolph, Constance Baker Motley, J. Saunders Redding, Sojourner Truth, Walter F. White, Amiri Baraka, and dozens more. Targeted for inclusion are the written and spoken words of Ralph Ellison, Malcolm X, Martin Luther King, Jr., Richard Wright, Angela Davis, Muhammad Ali, Jesse Jackson, Ida B. Wells, Bobby Seale, Rosa Parks, Gwendolyn Brooks, and a long list of others.

In addition to including the most familiar writings, Black Thought and Culture presents a great deal of previously inaccessible material, including letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, trial transcripts, and interviews. Much of the material is fugitive, and approximately twenty percent of the collection has not been published previously.

Black Women Writers
Targeting 100,000 pages of fiction, poetry, and essays, Black Women Writers brings together, in electronic format for the first time, the many voices of women from Africa and the African Diaspora.
Blackwell Compass
Blackwell Compass is a suite of state-of-the-art, peer-reviewed survey articles across entire disciplines. Disciplines currently covered are Geography, History, Literature, Philosophy, and Religion.
Blackwell Reference Online
(browse titles in Diamond Catalog)
Blackwell Reference Online contains full-text versions of reference titles from Blackwell Publishing including the highly regarded Blackwell Companions and Blackwell Handbooks. Temple currently has access to over 350 titles in the areas of Anthropology, Art, Business & Management, Classics, Communication & Media Studies, Cultural Studies, Economics, Gender Studies, Geography, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Medicine, Philosophy, Politics, Psychology, Race & Ethnicity Studies, Religion, and Sociology.
BNA Online
Bureau of National Affairs
Online access to BNA's portfolio of publications covering developments in health care, business, labor relations, law, economics, taxation, environmental protection, safety, and other public policy and regulatory issues.
Book Review Digest Plus [via EbscoHost]

Note: Book Review Digest Plus will no longer be available as of January 2014.  Alternative sources for book reviews include searching Summon and limiting your Source Type results to "Book Review" and/or searching Book Review Index.

Includes information on over 1.3 million book reviews covering over 650,000 books. Coverage extends back to 1983.

Book Review Index Online
Book Review Index Online provides more than five million book review citations from thousands of publications.
Books24x7

(browse titles in Diamond Catalog) 
Note: Due to relatively low usage compared to cost, the IT / Technical-related content in Books24x7 will no longer be available as of January 2014. Similar content may be found in Safari Tech Books.  Finance titles will still be available and will be augmented by a collection of 9,000+ Business-related titles.

Online library of thousands of titles covering information technology and finance. Users can annotate books and create personal bookshelves of favorite titles. Temple subscribes to the ITPro and FinancePro collections.

Britannica Image Quest
Over 2 million images from providers such as Dorling Kindersley, National Geographic, and Getty. All images are rights-cleared for educational use.
British Humanities Index
Note: New interface! Check out the quick start overview [pdf] and YouTube tutorials of the new interface.
An international abstracting and indexing tool for research in the humanities, BHI indexes over 320 internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK. Topics include architecture, archaeology, art, antiques, education, economics, foreign affairs, environment, cinema, current affairs, gender studies, history, language, law, linguistics, literature, music, painting, philosophy, poetry, political science, religion, and theatre. Coverage is from 1962 to present.
British Literary Manuscripts Online: 1660-1900

British Literary Manuscripts Online presents facsimile images of literary manuscripts, including letters and diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, and other literary works, and similar materials. Searching is based on tags and descriptive text associated with each manuscript. Images of the complete manuscript can be viewed, manipulated and navigated on screen. Please note that the text of the manuscripts themselves is not searchable.

British Literary Manuscripts Online: Medieval and Renaissance

British Literary Manuscripts Online, Medieval and Renaissance is the second installment in Gale’s groundbreaking British Literary Manuscripts Online series. This digital archive features manuscripts dating from roughly 1120 to 1660 – preceding and broadening the scope of the first series. It offers hundreds of thousands of pages of letters, poems, stories, plays, chronicles, religious writings, and other materials.

British Newspapers 1600-1900
British Newspapers, 1600-1900 is a comprehensive digital historic newspaper archive. It provides access to historic newspapers, newsbooks, ephemera and national & regional papers from the British Isles. This interface searches the 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers and 19th century British Library Newspapers. It also includes specially commissioned essays and contextual materials written by expert scholars intended to help non-specialist users with perspective and analysis.
British Periodicals Online

Note: New interface! Check out the quick start overview [pdf] and YouTube tutorials of the new interface.

British Periodicals Online traces the development and growth of the periodical press in Britain from its origins in the seventeenth century through to the Victorian 'age of periodicals' and beyond. On completion this digital archive will consist of almost 500 periodical runs published from the 1680s to the 1930s, comprising six million keyword-searchable pages. British Periodicals Online can be searched in tandem with hundreds of other journal backfiles via Periodicals Archive Online.

BrowZine for iPad

BrowZine for Android
Use the correct link to download this app to your tablet.  Then select Temple University from the 'Choose Library' menu, and log in with your AccessNet ID.

BrowZine works by organizing the articles found in Open Access and subscription databases, uniting them into complete journals, then arranging these journals on a common newsstand.  The result is an easy and familiar way to browse, read and monitor scholarly journals across the disciplines.

Easily read complete scholarly journals in a format that is optimized for tablet devices - Create a personal bookshelf of favorite journals - Be alerted when new editions of journals are published - Easily save to Zotero, Mendeley, Dropbox and other services.

BuildingGreen
BuildingGreen features comprehensive, practical information on a wide range of topics related to sustainable building. It includes online versions of the GreenSpec directory of products and Environmental Building News.
Burger's Medicinal Chemistry, Drug Discovery and Development
Burger's provides broad coverage of medicinal chemistry and drug discovery for new, as well as experienced, medicinal chemists, biologists, pharmacologists, and molecular biologists. Burger's offers a comprehensive, global perspective of drug design and drug development.
Business & Company Resource Center

Note: Business & Company Resource Center has moved to a new interface and is now called Business Insights: Global

Business & Company Resource Center brings together in a single database company profiles, company brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, and periodicals. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information. Covers 1980 - Sep 2000. (Updated daily)

Business & Industry
Business & Industry covers more than 900 major U.S. and international trade journals, general business publications, and national, regional and international newspapers and newsletters, from 1994 to the present, updated daily. Coverage is 50U.S. content and 50international and includes all industries and companies with over 340,000 records added each year. Approximately 60of the database is full-text. (Updated daily)
Business & Management Practices
Business & Management Practices (BaMP) is a full-text resource with a focus on the practical aspects and approaches of business management. Updated weekly and providing coverage back to 1995, Business & Management Practices offers highly-focused coverage of more than 300 core management journals and trade publications. Also included are specific management-related articles from over 300 additional respected business sources. (Updated weekly)
Business Expert Press

Business Expert Press's Digital Libraries are filled with practical, concise books covering specific areas of business, including supply and operations management, international business, social media, finance, accounting, public relations, and marketing strategy. They're written by international authorities, specifically for students seeking bachelors or masters degrees. 

Business Insights: Global
"Business Insights: Global contains the following content and features:

--Case studies from Gale CaseBase and from additional publishers
--Interactive LiveCharts for economic and business indicators that let students generate their own analyses and generate custom charts for use in reports and presentations
--Inline article content that lets users explore the broader context behind events and trends they perceive in economic data
--Global company, country, and industry overviews full of detailed information, as well as interactive rankings and stats, with quick links to associated news, case studies and academic journal articles
--Global industry research reports for specific industries within specific countries
--Academic journal articles, periodical articles, news articles, newswires and other news media
--Topic overviews on major areas of international business, with quick links to associated content
--Company histories and market share data
--Faceted search results, extensive deep links, multiple sorting options"
Business Source Premier

Contains 2,804 full text scholarly journals and business periodicals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, etc, including Harvard Business Review, MIT Sloan Management Review, California Management Review, Administrative Science Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Industrial & Labor Relations Review, Journal of Management Studies, Journal of Marketing Management, Journal of Marketing Research (JMR), Journal of Marketing, Journal of International Marketing, etc. The database also includes many leading journals in the areas of economics, finance, and accounting, as well as country economic reports from the EIU, DRI-WEFA, ICON Group and CountryWatch. More than 200 of the journals have PDF full text back to 1965 or the first issue published, with more than 2,200 PDF?s. Business Source Premier contains PDF images for the great majority of journals; many of these PDF's are native (searchable) or scanned-in-color. (Updated daily)

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z | All