All Databases A-Z

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z | All
Dance in Video

Note: Dance in Video, Volume II has been added to this collection!

Dance in Video is a searchable database containing streaming video files of dance productions and documentaries by influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. Videos can be browsed by people, role, ensemble, genre, and venue. Material types include documentaries, editorials, instructional, interviews, and performances. Database users may create their own custom playlists and video clips.

Data Citation Index

Access an array of data across subjects and regions, providing a comprehensive picture of research output to understand data in context and maximize research efforts. The Data Citation Index on the Web of Science provides a single point of access to quality research data from repositories across disciplines and around the world. Through linked content and summary information, this data is displayed within the broader context of the scholarly research, enabling users to gain perspective that is lost when data sets or repositories are viewed in isolation.

Data-Planet Statistical DataSets

Data-Planet Statistical DataSets requires Java, so your browser may prompt you to 'allow' or install Java for it to work properly.  Please note that Java does not currently work on Macs using Chrome.  

DataSets aggregates over 590 licensed and public domain datasets provided by over 50 sources and makes that data available from within a single interface. Users scan the contents of these datasets, select subjects and variables of interest, and view the data in side-by-side tables and charts. The product also provides accompanying metadata in the form of citation records to provide details on how the data were collected and obtained.

Declassified Documents Reference System
The Declassified Documents Reference System is a full-text database of previously classified documents that have been declassified by the Federal government. The database covers major international events from the Cold War to the Vietnam War and beyond, and includes material in the fields of history, political science, international relations, American studies, United States foreign and domestic policy studies, journalism and more. Documents from such agencies as the Federal Bureau of Investigation, the Central Intelligence Agency, the Justice Department, the State Department, the National Security Agency, and the White House are included. Date coverage is largely post-World War II to the early 1990s, with some documents dating back to the early decades of the Twentieth Century, and up to the early years of the Twenty-first Century.

Concurrent user limit: 2
Defining Gender, 1450-1910
This online collection contains scanned images of rare printed and important manuscript texts on many aspects of gender, sexuality and culture in Great Britain. Types of materials include: ephemeral material such as ballads, cartoons and pamphlets, diaries, advice literature, medical journals, conduct books, and periodicals. Other features include essays by modern scholars, biographical sketches, a chronology, etc.
Derwent Innovations Index (1994-present)

Value-added patent information from Derwent World Patent Index® as well as patent citation information from Patents Citation Index®. Derwent Innovations Index® facilitates rapid, precise patent searching, letting you conduct patent and citation searches of inventions in chemical, electrical, electronic, and mechanical engineering. This resource merges the value-added patent information from Derwent World Patents Index® with the patent citation information from Derwent Patent Citation Index®. You can use additional descriptive information and coding to quickly grasp a patent's significance and its relationship to other patents. Reduce duplication of R&D; track competitors' activities; detect and avoid patent infringement; identify potential gaps in the marketplace and possible licensing opportunities.

Design & Applied Arts Index
Note: New interface! Check out the quick start overview [pdf] and YouTube tutorials of the new interface.
Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) is a leading source of abstracts and bibliographic records for articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals from 1973 onwards. DAAI covers both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century, surveying disciplines including ceramics, glass, jewellery, wood, metalsmithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture.
Design Abstracts Retrospective
Design Abstracts Retrospective (DAR) is a retrospective of the Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) covering the years 1903 to 1986, with some sources going back to 1894. It provides coverage of more than 100 design and design-related journals most of which have ceased publication, but which are distinctly important to the development of design concepts in the early 20th century. DAR provides broad, international coverage on a wide range of subjects in the fields of industrial and product design, architecture, interior design, furniture design, ceramics, glass, jewelry, metalsmithing, fashion and textile design, graphic design, etc.
Design ProFILES
Design Profiles provides information about more than 8,000 influential designers and design-related fields.
designinform
includes Design Abstracts Retrospective and Design ProFILES
designinform is a suite of 3 resources:

Design Abstracts Retrospective (DAR) aims to provide indexing and abstract coverage of many of the most important design and applied arts journals and annuals published during the twentieth century.

Deisgn ProFILES is the largest and most comprehensive dictionary of design and designers ever compiled. It includes profiles of every designer, architect, craftsperson, studio, workshop, etc. whose work is discussed or illustrated in the journals and yearbooks covered by DAR.

ReVIEW aims to digitize many of the most important decorative and fine arts journals published in Europe and the USA during the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, making them available for the first time in a searchable form online.
Diamond: The Libraries' Catalog
Diamond is the catalog of books, movies, music, and other materials held by the Temple University Libraries.
Dictionary of American Regional English (DARE)

DARE is different from other dictionaries in that it does not include words that are commonly used throughout the United States, but rather focuses on the regional aspects of our language, documenting words, phrases, and pronunciations that vary from one place to another. Widely viewed as the American equivalent of the Oxford English Dictionary, DARE represents the full panoply of American regional vocabulary—from Adam’s housecat to Zydeco. Contradicting the popular notion that American English has become homogenized, DARE demonstrates that our language still has distinct and delightful local character. Whether we are talking about foods, games, clothing, family members, animals, or almost any other aspect of life, our vocabulary reveals much about who we are. DARE celebrates the color, richness, and evolution of the English language across America.

Dictionary of Old English
"The Dictionary of Old English (DOE) defines the vocabulary of the first six centuries (600 - 1150 A.D.) of the English language, using today's most advanced technology. The DOE complements the Middle English Dictionary (which covers the period 1100 - 1500 A.D.) and the Oxford English Dictionary (which documents the development of the English language to the present), the three together providing a full description of the vocabulary of English.

The Dictionary draws on as wide a range of texts -- in date, dialect and genre -- as possible. It differs from previous dictionaries in several important features: a listing in a simplified paradigmatic order of every spelling which is attested for a word in the Electronic Corpus; frequency counts for each word in the corpus so that readers can know what proportion of the evidence has been cited; usage labels where they are statistically significant, noting restrictions to a class of texts, to an author, or to a particular period or dialect; exhaustive citation for all words of twelve or fewer occurrences." (description taken from publisher)
Dictionary of Old English Web Corpus
"The Dictionary of Old English Web Corpus is an online database consisting of at least one copy of every surviving Old English text. In some cases, more than one copy is included, if it is significant because of dialect or date." (description from publisher)
Digital National Security Archive
The Digital National Security Archive (DNSA) uses the Freedom of Information Act to collect government documents on US national security issues. These documents, primary research material on public policy, are digitally scanned and searchable. Some of the scanned documents have sensitive information blacked out. DNSA also provides good background material, explaining the context of the documents, along with bibliographies, chronologies, and glossaries.

Documents are organized in collections, ranging from "Afghanistan: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1973-1990" to "The Kissinger Transcripts: A Verbatim Record of U.S. Diplomacy, 1969-1977." Also notable are collections on "The Cuban Missile Crisis, 1962," "Terrorism and U.S. Policy, 1968-2002," and "Presidential Directives on National Security from Harry Truman to George W. Bush."
Digitial Public Library of America

The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.  DPLA Stats (2013): Partners, Over 600 - Number of items, 2.5 million* - Select item types, 1 million photographs and visual materials, 225,000 books and serials, 60,000 maps, 50,000 obituaries, 15,000 videos, 5,000 oral histories, hundreds of newspaper titles.  *1.6 million books coming soon!

Dissertations & Theses (Proquest)

Note: New interface! Check out the quick start overview and YouTube tutorials of the new interface.

The definitive guide to more than 2 million doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Proquest Dissertations & Theses helps you identify more than 90 percent of the doctoral dissertations accepted each year in North America. The database also covers thousands of dissertations and theses from around the globe.

Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1861, and more than 55,000 new citations are added to the database every year. Full-text Temple University dissertations from as far back as the 1950's are included along with 24-page previews of thousands of other dissertations.

Documents on British Policy Overseas
Documents on British Policy Overseas is a fully searchable collection of primary source documents from Britain's Foreign and Commonwealth Office, shedding light on diplomatic history throughout the twentieth century. It is based on three distinct print series which form a record of British peacetime diplomacy since the end of the nineteenth century: British Documents on the Origins of the War 1898-1914, Documents on British Foreign Policy 1918-1939 and Documents on British Policy Overseas. Documents are selected and edited by the official historians of the FCO, with many documents specifically declassified for inclusion.
DOE Information Bridge

Note:  DOE Information Bridge has been consolidated into SciTech Connect.

The DOE Information Bridge provides free and convenient access to full-text and bibliographic records of Department of Energy (DOE) research and development reports in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and information science, renewable energy, and other topics. DOE's Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) makes this web site available to the public in partnership with the Government Printing Office (GPO), through GPO Access.

DRAM
Database of Recorded American Music
DRAM Online provides CD quality audio, complete with original liner notes and essays of the diverse catalogue of American music recordings (over 1,500 CDs of 9,800 compositions from folk to opera, Native American to jazz, 19th century classical to early rock, musical theatre, contemporary, electronic and beyond) from New World Records, Composers Recordings, Inc. (CRI), Albany Records, Innova Recordings, Cedille Records and other important labels.
Drama Online

Drama Online introduces new writers alongside the most iconic names in playwriting history, providing contextual and critical background through scholarly works and practical guides.  The constantly growing collection meets the full range of teaching needs for theatre studies, literature courses and drama schools. From the epic to the monologue; ensemble to one-person plays; comedy to tragedy; the historical to the contemporary; and from the highly political to the profoundly personal, there is plenty to discover.  Unique Play Tools with Character Grids, Words and Speech graphs and Part Books offer a new way to engage with plays for close study or for performance.

DSM Library
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders
DynaMed

DynaMed™ is a clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use at the point-of-care. With clinically -organized summaries for more than 3,200 topics, DynaMed provides the latest content and resources with validity, relevance and convenience, making DynaMed an indispensable resource for answering most clinical questions during practice.  Updated daily, DynaMed editors monitor the content of over 500 medical journals on a daily basis. Each article is evaluated for clinical relevance and scientific validity. 

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z | All