All Databases A-Z

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z | All
Gale Directory Library
Search, sort, and download text records from online versions of well-known directories from Gale, such as Ward's Business Directory and the Encyclopedia of Associations.
Gale NewsVault
Gale NewsVault allows you to cross-search or browse multiple historical news collections from Gale.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Note: New interface Dec 2011
Includes fulltext versions of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources across all subject areas.
Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index
Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index covers a wide range of serial titles including general gardening titles of national, international, and regional interest, and titles devoted to specialty gardens and plant groups. Indexed and abstracted are more than 300 core titles, the majority of which are published in English. Coverage for many titles extends back further than a decade. Topics include horticulture, botany, garden and landscape design & history, ecology, plant and garden conservation, garden management, and horticultural therapy. (adapted from Ebsco description)
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online contains over 9,000 pages of material, the full text of the 10-volume print encyclopedia (more than 700 articles) with links to associated audio examples, musical illustrations, photographs, and drawings; song texts and score examples; and charts and maps of world regions.
Gartner Research
Note: Access courtesy of Temple University Computer and Information Services
Gartner is the world's leading provider of research and analysis about the global information technology industry. Gartner reports cover consumer technologies, emerging trends & technologies, enterprise architecture, open source, PCs, laptops, & handhelds, regulator compliance, security & privacy, ERP & supply chain management, outsourcing, IT management, and more.
GenderWatch
Concurrent user limit: 12
Note: New interface! Check out the quick start overview [pdf] and YouTube tutorials of the new interface.
GenderWatch is a full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. GenderWatch supports programs in business, education, literature and the arts, health sciences, history, political science, public policy, sociology and contemporary culture, gender and women's studies and more. Publications include academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, n-g-o and special reports. The database provides in-depth coverage of the subjects that are uniquely central to women's lives, including family, childbirth, birth control, daycare, domestic abuse, work and the workplace, sexual harassment, aging, aging parents, body image, eating disorders and social and societal roles. It also includes content on the impact of gender and gender roles on areas such as: the arts, popular culture and media, business and work, crime and criminology, education, research and scholarship, family, health care and medicine, politics, policy and legislation, pornography, religion, sexuality and sexology, sports and leisure. GenderWatch contains archival material, in some cases as far back as the 1970's with additional archival material continually added, making this the repository of an important historical perspective on the evolution of the women's movement and the changes in gender roles and understandings over the last fifteen to twenty years.

Concurrent user limit: 12
General OneFile
Broad coverage of general interest periodicals, including newspapers.
GEOBASE
NOTE: GEOBASE is no longer available via FirstSearch as of 7/1/11. Currently available search alternatives covering content similar to GEOBASE include Summon, GeoRef, Web of Science, and Environmnetal Sciences & Pollution Management.
Worldwide literature on geography, geology, ecology, and related disciplines. Over 2,000 journals fully covered, with an additional 3,000 selectively covered; also books, monographs, proceedings, reports are indexed. Coverage/update: 1980 to present; adds new records daily. (Updated monthly)
GeoRef
Produced by the American Geological Institute, this database is a comprehensive geoscience database containing over 2.2 million bibliographic records from more than 3,000 journals and other sources. GeoRef provides coverage in subject areas such as mineralogy and crystallography, general mineralogy, mineralogy of silicates, and mineralogy of non-silicates. (Updated twice monthly)
GeoScienceWorld
Comprehensive resource for research and communications in the geosciences, built on a core database aggregation of full-text peer-reviewed journals. GeoScienceWorld was founded by the following leading earth sciences organizations:

* American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG),
* American Geological Institute (AGI),
* Geological Society of America (GSA),
* The Geological Society of London (GSL),
* Mineralogical Society of America (MSA),
* Society for Sedimentary Geology (SEPM), and
* Society of Exploration Geophysicists (SEG)
Gerritsen Collection - Women's History Online, 1543-1945
In the late 1800s, Dutch physician Aletta Jacobs Gerritsen began collecting monographs and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and women's rights. By the time her successors finished their work in 1945, the Gerritsen Collection was the greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world, with materials spanning four centuries and fifteen languages.
Global Commodities

 This project focuses on fifteen significant commodities whose stories are often intertwined. Each commodity is documented through a wide range of manuscript materials, maps, posters, paintings, photographs, ephemera, objects and rare books so that the student can explore the origins of the commodity, their first uses, the trade that developed and the ways in which these items were marketed and consumed.

Global Development Finance
Global Development Finance is the sole repository for statistics on the external debt of developing countries derived from loan-by-loan records. This edition of GDF presents reported or estimated data on the total external debt of 128 individual countries that report to the World Bank's Debtor reporting System (DRS). Global Development Finance is an annual publication, which includes a narrative account of recent trends with tables summarizing the capital flows and debt statistics for reporting countries. The database covers more than 200 debt and financial flows indicators for the 128 countries with data from 1970 to 2016, where available.
Global Economic Monitor
Global Economic Monitor provides daily and monthly commentary on global economic conditions along with direct access to high frequency data that is refreshed daily. It provides analysis of current economic trends, economic, financial and commodity data indicators, an extensive database including growth and commodity forecasts and access to the iSimulate modeling platform.
Global Health
Concurrent user limit: 4
Global Health is a public health database that provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene, and much more. Coverage is 1910-present and includes abstracts and indexes of English and foreign language journals, books, research reports, theses, conference proceedings, annual reports, developing country information and other forms of hard-to-find literature from over 150 countries.

Concurrent user limit: 4
Global Insight
Note: Internet Explorer required for full functionality
Global Insight provides comprehensive economic, financial, and political coverage of countries, regions, and industries -- covering over 200 countries and spanning more than approximately 170 industries.

Advanced Country Analysis and Forecast provides the following key benefits:
--Issues and trends tracked daily for 203 countries through Global Insight's Same-Day Analysis service
--Country reports featuring in-depth political, economic, legal, tax, operational, and security analysis
--Daily updates for over 200 country and sovereign risk ratings, with interactive reports
--Economic Data and Forecasts, which include:
*Key monthly, quarterly, and annual economic indicators for 203 countries on up to 150 economic indicators
*Twenty-year forecast horizon
*All aspects of economic developments, sectors, and trade profiles
*Historical data going back to 1970
*Flexible download, comparison and graphing capabilities though the DataInsight-Web tool.

Global Insight also includes the following industry-specific services providing market and risk analysis, industry trends, and company data:

--World Markets Automotive
--World Markets Energy
--World Markets Healthcare
--World Markets Telecoms


Note: the DataInsight-Web tool requires Internet Explorer
Global Issues in Context
Offers global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news related to these issues.
Global Market Information Database
Note: Access limited to current faculty, staff, and students ONLY
Global Market Information Database (GMID) is a marketing tool provided by Euromonitor that contains data for many countries on consumer market sizes, market data & forecasts, consumer lifestyles, companies and brands. Use Global Market Information Database to retrieve international market research data, including reports on specific products and industries.
Google Books
A growing collection of full-text, out of copyright books, as well as snippets from more recent titles.
Google Scholar
Note: If you are off-campus, set-up your preferences to access Temple's full-text articles through Google Scholar. In preferences, you can also specify a bibliographic manager, such as Refworks.
Google Scholar is a subset of Google Web Search that searches specifically for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. By searching Google Scholar from Temple's library web site, you will automatically have direct access, both on and off campus, to subscription articles already paid for through the library. Just look for the "Find Full-Text @ TU" link within search results.
GPO FDsys
Formerly GPO Access
FDsys is a service of the U.S. Government Printing Office that provides free electronic access to a wealth of important information products produced by the Federal Government. The information provided on this site is the official, published version and the information retrieved from FDsys can be used without restriction, unless specifically noted. This free service is funded by the Federal Depository Library Program and has grown out of Public Law 103-40, known as the Government Printing Office Electronic Information Enhancement Act of 1993. The free services of FDsys include:

* Government information databases for your online use
* Individual Federal agency files available for download
* Tools to assist you in finding Government Information
* Collections of Government information available for free use at a library near you
* User Support
GPO Monthly Catalog
Over 450,000 records on all subjects of interest to the U.S. government: Congressional reports, hearings, debates, judiciary materials, documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc.). Coverage/update: July 1976 to the present; adds new records monthly.
GreenFILE
GreenFILE is a collection of scholarly, government, and general-interest titles that focuses on the relationship between human beings and the environment. Topics include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling. It covers the environmental effects of individuals, corporations, and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact.
GREENR
Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources
GREENR focuses on the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues. Topic, organization, and country portals form research centers around issues covering energy systems, health care, agriculture, climate change, population, and economic development. Portals include authoritative analysis, academic journals, news, case studies, legislation, conference proceedings, primary source documents, statistics, and rich multimedia.
Grove Art Online [via Oxford Art Online]
Concurrent user limit: 11
Grove Art Online provides Web access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art, ed. Jane Turner (1996, 34 vols.) and The Oxford Companion to Western Art, ed. Hugh Brigstocke (2001). It offers ongoing additions of new and updated articles, over 1,500 thumbnail art images and line drawings displayed in the text of articles, extensive image links, and sophisticated search and navigation tools.

Concurrent user limit: 8
Grove Music Online [via Oxford Music Online]
Concurrent user limit: 11
Grove Music Online is an integrated music resource on the Web, including the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (second edition; 29 volumes), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (4 volumes) and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (second edition; 3 volumes). It is updated annually to ensure it remains up to date and includes key features such as full-text searching with advanced capabilities, over 3000 links to related sites including sound archives and illustrations, and regular editorial updates.

Searching in Grove Music Online is organized around the following themes:

* Search the full-text by concept, pattern and boolean methods
* Browse to see articles at your leisure
* Explore the dictionary by subject classifications

Concurrent user limit: 11
Guide to Computing Literature
From the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM), the Guide includes more than 750,000 citations from books, journal articles, conference proceedings, doctoral dissertations, master's theses, and technical reports in the field of computer science.
Guide to Reference
Guide to Reference is a selective guide to the best reference sources, organized by academic discipline.
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z | All