All Databases A-Z

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z | All
Hague Academy Collected Courses Online
The Hague Academcy Collected Courses Online is the electronic version of the longstanding book series on international law: Collected Courses of the Hague Academy of International Law.

The Hague Academy of International Law, founded in 1923, is the prestigious international institution for the study and teaching of public and private international law and related subjects. The work of the Academy receives the support and recognition of the UN. Its purpose is to encourage a thorough and impartial examination of the problems arising from international relations in the field of law.

The courses deal with the theoretical and practical aspects of the subject, including legislation and case law. They are given by the most prominent legal specialists in the world. All courses at the Academy are published in the language in which they were delivered, either in English or in French.

The Collected Courses Online now covers more than 330 volumes (150,000 pages) containing over 1200 lectures given over a period of 85 years. At least seven new volumes are added every year. The result is a constantly growing fully searchable encyclopedic collection on international law.
Handbook of Latin American Studies
Bibliography of materials selected and annotated by scholars. It includes evaluations of books, book chapters, conference papers, and articles from more than 1400 social science and 600 humanities journals and conference proceedings published worldwide in the field of Latin American studies. Produced by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the online records correspond to the printed Handbook of Latin American Studies from volume 50 forward. The database is multilingual and multidisciplinary, covering the fields of anthropology, including archaeology and genealogy; art; economics; electronic resources; geography; government and politics; international relations; literature; music; philosophy; and sociology. Records representing approximately 6,000 monographs and 5,000 journal articles and conference papers are added each year.
HarpWeek
Note: additional content (1878-1912) added June, 2012
The HarpWeek database contains all the pages of Harper's Weekly (1857-1912) as scanned images, together with a series of indexes.
HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust Digital Library is a digital preservation repository and highly functional access platform. It provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives. Temple users have access to HathiTrust items that are in the public domain.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments
Features material on unpublished information-gathering tools for clinicians that are discussed in journal articles, such as questionnaires, interview schedules, tests, checklists, rating and other scales, coding schemes, and projective techniques. Over 2/3 of the tools are in medical and nursing areas such as pain measurement, quality of life assessment, and drug efficacy evaluation.

The database contains several categories of content -- citations to actual test documents that copyright holders authorize the database publisher to make available; bibliographic citations to journal articles which contain information about specific test instruments; and a catalog of commercial test publishers and their available instruments.

In addition to medical measurement instruments, the database presents tests used in medically related disciplines including psychology, social work, occupational therapy, physical therapy, and speech & hearing therapy.

Coverage: 1985 to the present. (Updated quarterly)
Health and Safety Science Abstracts
Note: New interface! Check out the quick start overview [pdf] and YouTube tutorials of the new interface.
Published in association with the University of Southern California's Institute of Safety and Systems Management, this database provides a survey of recent work relating to public health, safety, and industrial hygiene. Cited studies are geared to help individuals identify, evaluate, and eliminate or control risks and hazards across the spectrum of environmental and occupational situations. The database provides the latest perspectives on topics of widespread concern such as aviation and aerospace safety, environmental safety, nuclear safety, medical safety occupational safety, and ergonomics. Health and safety related aspects of pollution, waste disposal, radiation, pesticides, epidemics - and countless other phenomena having the potential to threaten the public, the environment, or the workplace itself - are reported here. Drawing on government reports as well as journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and other publications, Health and Safety Science Abstracts synthesizes the most important new developments in safety science and human factors research. (Updated monthly)
HealthSTAR
Ovid Healthstar is comprised of data from the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) MEDLINE and former HealthSTAR databases. As such, it contains citations to the published literature on health services, technology, administration, and research. It focuses on both the clinical and non-clinical aspects of health care delivery. The following topics are included: evaluation of patient outcomes; effectiveness of procedures, programs, products, services and processes; administration and planning of health facilities, services and manpower; health insurance; health policy; health services research; health economics and financial management; laws and regulation; personnel administration; quality assurance; licensure; and accreditation.

As announced in October 2000, Ovid is offering Ovid Healthstar as a continuation of the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) now-defunct HealthSTAR database. Ovid Healthstar retains all existing backfile HealthSTAR citations and is updated with new journal citations culled from MEDLINE using the NLM's HealthSTAR search strategy. The database contains citations and abstracts (when available) to journal articles, monographs, technical reports, meeting abstracts and papers, book chapters, government documents, and newspaper articles from 1975 to the present. Citations are indexed with the National Library of Medicine's Medical Subject Headings in order to ensure compatibility with other NLM databases. Information in Ovid Healthstar is derived from MEDLINE, the Hospital Literature Index, and selected journals. (Description taken from Ovid)
HeinOnline
Image-based (PDF) collection of legal research material. Unlike other periodical databases that supply only post-1980 volumes, Hein-On-Line provides each journal from its inception and continues to the most current volume allowed under contract between Hein and the journal.
Henry Stewart Talks
Online Seminars in the Biomedical & Life Sciences
The Biomedical and Life Sciences Collection of the Henry Stewert Talks contains 1,000 online audio-visual seminar style talks, each especially commissioned from leading world experts.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index
Online version of the print Hispanic American Periodicals Index. Covers Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Provides analyses of current political, economic, and social issues as well as Latin American arts and letters. Covers articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 400 social science and humanities journals published worldwide.
Historical Abstracts
Concurrent user limit: 6
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). Currently over 2,000 journals published throughout the world are covered in the database. In addition to including the key historical journals from virtually every major country, Historical Abstracts includes a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities that are of special interest to researchers and students of history. (Updated monthly)

Concurrent user limit: 6
Historical Statistics of the United States
Over 37,000 data series covering the vast scope of U.S history. In addition to updating and expanding the highly regarded 1975 print edition, HSUS also allows you to download data in Excel or CSV format as well build your own custom data sets. Additional features include:

* Save your search criteria
* Search within a chapter or volume
* Bookmark tables or essays
* Searchable term and contributor indexes
* View tables in PDF or HTML format
* Tables online include full documentation, sources, and footnotes
* Select certain years or series of years to view, download, print, or graph
* Download unrounded table data, for more detailed statistical analyses.
* Enhanced table display features: jump to a certain table column (series), skip over blank data cells, highlight table rows and columns for readability
* Toggle table sorting by ascending or decending year
* Create and download colorful charts, graphs, and plots
* Email a table or essay to a colleague
History of Science, Technology and Medicine

Concurrent user limit: 1

 

This database integrates four bibliographies—the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology, the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienzaand the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine—to create the definitive international database for the history of science, technology and medicine. 

History of Science, Technology and Medicine reflects the influences of these fields on society and culture from prehistory to the present, and offers outstanding value for interdisciplinary research. This essential database includes records of journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps and other related materials.
 
Hollywood Creative Directory
Note: We have been informed that the Hollywood Creative Directory is ceasing publication after 11/30/11 and thus will no longer be available after that date.
The many directories that make up the Hollywood Creative Directory catalogue, commonly known as "the phone books to Hollywood," offer regularly updated names, numbers, addresses and current titles of entertainment professionals from the film, television and music industries. The current catalogue includes the Hollywood Creative Directory, the Hollywood Representation Directory, the Hollywood Distributors Directory and the Hollywood Music Industry Directory.
Homeland Security Digital Library
The Homeland Security Digital Library collection provides easy access to U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized resources, such as dissertations, reports and position papers from universities, research institutions, think tanks and U.S. local and state agencies as well as international governments.
Hospitality & Tourism Complete
Covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. The database combines the records of three collections: Cornell University's former Hospitality database, Articles in Hospitality and Tourism (AHT), formerly co-produced by the Universities of Surrey and Oxford Brookes, and the Lodging, Restaurant & Tourism Index (LRTI), formerly produced by Purdue University. Together, this collection contains more than 500,000 records from more than 500 titles, with coverage dating as far back as 1965. Hospitality & Tourism Complete contains full text for more than 200 publications. Sources are both domestic and international in range and scope, with material collected from countries and regions such as Canada, Australia, Europe and Asia. Publications include Hotel & Motel Management, Journal of Leisure Research, Nation's Restaurant News, Restaurants & Institutions and many more. Subject areas covered include the culinary arts, demographics & statistics, development & investment, food & beverage management, hospitality law, hotel management & administrative practices, leisure & business travel, market trends, technology and more.
House and Senate Journals, Series I, 1789-1817
Chronicles matters considered on the floor of the House and Senate, votes and other actions taken, as well as excerpts from executive department communications and member responses.
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (18th &19th Centuries)
Includes the Nineteenth Century House of Commons Sessional Papers (almost 80,000 papers) and the accompanying Subject Catalogue of the House of Commons Parliamentary Papers, 1801-1900. The Eighteenth Century Parliamentary Papers Collection (1688-1834) features publications published officially by the House of Commons or the House of Lords from 1688 to 1834, including sessional papers and other material such as Journals and Private Acts.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective, 1907-1984 [via EbscoHost]
Index to a wide range of important journals in the humanities and social sciences from 1907 to 1984.
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z | All