All Databases A-Z

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z | All
L'Annee Philologique
Concurrent user limit: 10
L'Annee Philologique Online is an index of publications related to the history, language, literature and civilization of ancient Greece and Rome. The L'Annee Philologique Online Online contains references to material published since 1969, and is updated once per year. There is a two to three year delay before references are added to the index. Many of the books and articles indexed are in languages other than English. Abstracts are not provided for books, but the database indicates where reviews of books have been published. The database often gives brief abstracts of journal articles, but an abstract may be in French, German, English, Spanish or Italian.

Concurrent user limit: 10
Latin American Historical Newspapers, Series 1

Upon completion, Latin American Newspapers will include approximately 35 fully searchable newspapers printed throughout Latin America in the 19th and 20th centuries. [Notable Title List]

Latin American Historical Newspapers, Series 2
This second series of digitized Latin American Newspapers dramatically expands the number of searchable titles available from this region. Providing issues from more than 250 additional titles, this online series includes newspapers published in English, Spanish and Portuguese from 20 countries, including some countries and cities not represented in Latin American Newspapers, Series 1. (adapted from publisher's description)
Latin American Periodicals Table of Contents

Provides access to the Table of Contents of 950 Latin American periodicals. A component of the Latin Americanist Research Resources Project (ARL), University of Texas at Austin.

Latin American Weekly Report
Concurrent user limit: 10
Latin American Women Writers
Including literature by Latin American women from the colonial period in the 17th century forward to the present, the database presents the works in their original languages and includes literary works, memoirs, letters, and essays. There is much previously unpublished content. The database will contain approximately 100,000 pages of prose, poetry and drama by women writers from Mexico, Central, and South America when complete.
Latino Literature
Contains fiction, poetry, and plays representing the Chicano culture and all the different ethnicities of Latin American writers with a Hispanic background working in the United States. The database also includes ancillary materials such as playbills and performance material, poetry readings and book presentation flyers, book covers, pictures, etcIncludes some 19th century materials but the vast majority of the materials are from the Chicano Renaissance to current times. Texts are presented in their original language, English or Spanish. In cases where authors produced more different language versions of their work, both are included. About 30of the database is previously unpublished or rare materials from various sources including institutions such as the Centro de Estudios Puertorriquenos at Hunter College, scholars personal archives and the authors themselves. The three major groups are represented, Chicanos, Puerto Rican and Cubans, as well as Argentineans, Salvadorans, Dominicans, and other Central and South Americans.
LawInfoChina

Concurrent user limit: 1

LawInfoChina provides English versions of Chinese laws & regulations as well as representative court cases. ChinaLawInfo provides original Chinese language versions of the same resources.

Concurrent user limit: 1

Legal Collection
A collection of scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents, and case studies. Covers current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, and the environment. Offers full text for nearly 250 international law journals. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the collection. Updated regularly.
Letters and Diaries Online
Includes oral histories
In addition to offering keyword searching across thousands of collections freely available on the Web, the Letters and Diaries Online platform allows users to perform in-depth fielded searches across all of the letter, diary, and oral history collections published commercially by Alexander Street Press. Temple users will only have full-text access to those collections Temple has purchased (North American Women's Letters and Diaries / North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories / The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries / Black Thought and Culture)
Lexi-Comp Online
Lexi-Comp Online is a clinical, point-of-care information tool comprised of a series of drug information databases. The heart of Lexi-Comp Online is Lexi-Drugs, a comprehensive drug data resource of over 1600 drug monographs, covering over 8000 medications, each offering up to 55 fields of information. Other files in this package include a drug interaction tool; patient handouts; a comprehensive medical calculations application; a drug identification instrument and a natural products file.
Lexi-Comp Online for Dentistry
This convenient, time sensitive, point-of-care resource includes:

-Drug Information for Dentistry
-Dental Office Medical Emergencies
-Natural Therapeutics
-Clinician's Endodontic Handbook
-Oral Soft Tissue Diseases
-Oral Hard Tissue Diseases
-Manual of Dental Implants
-Manual of Clinical Periodontics
-Oral Surgery for the General Dentist
-Illustrated Handbook of Clinical Dentistry
-Your Roadmap to Financial Integrity in the Dental Practice
-Little Dental Drug Booklet

Online access to drug information including:

-Instant DENTAL ALERTS that warn of patient medications/natural products that could influence treatment or cause harmful effects
-Up to 55 fields of information for over 1600 drugs including "Effects on Dental Treatment" and "Local Anesthetic/Vasoconstrictor Precautions"
-Dental treatment of medically-compromised patients
-Treatment of patients with specific oral conditions
LexisNexis Academic

Note: Please disregard any 'Application Error' you may see on a results page.  This is a known issue, and does not affect the content provided.

LexisNexis Academic covers thousands of publications, most of which are available in full text. It is especially useful for legal research. Coverage of current news and business information is also extensive.

LexisNexis Academic: Biography
Note: Please use the "Research People" box in LexisNexis Academic to find biographical information
LexisNexis Academic covers thousands of publications, most of which are available in full text. It is especially useful for legal research. Coverage of current news and business information is also extensive.
LexisNexis Academic: Company Dossier
LexisNexis Academic covers thousands of publications, most of which are available in full text. It is especially useful for legal research. Coverage of current news and business information is also extensive.

Use this link to limit your search to up-to-date company-based information. This research tool provides a complete picture of a company's structure, financial health, brands, and competitors.
LexisNexis Academic: Federal & State Cases
LexisNexis Academic covers thousands of publications, most of which are available in full text. It is especially useful for legal research. Coverage of current news and business information is also extensive.

Use this link to limit your legal research to information on federal and state cases.
LexisNexis Academic: Federal Statutes, Codes, & Regulations
LexisNexis Academic covers thousands of publications, most of which are available in full text. It is especially useful for legal research. Coverage of current news and business information is also extensive.

Use this link to limit your legal research to information on Federal Statutes, Codes, & Regulations.
LexisNexis Academic: Law Reviews
LexisNexis Academic covers thousands of publications, most of which are available in full text. It is especially useful for legal research. Coverage of current news and business information is also extensive.

Use this link to limit your legal research to law reviews.
LexisNexis Academic: Pennsylvania Statutes
The Pennsylvania Statutes, Annotated by LexisNexis, include all laws of a general and permanent nature, as enacted by the Pennsylvania Legislature.
LexisNexis Academic: State Statutes, Codes, & Regulations
LexisNexis Academic covers thousands of publications, most of which are available in full text. It is especially useful for legal research. Coverage of current news and business information is also extensive.

Use this link to limit your legal research to information on State Statutes, Codes, & Regulations.
LexisNexis Congressional (Proquest Congressional)

NoteProquest Congressional has moved to a new platform.  Information about the new interface may be found here.  Includes the U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection.

Provides access to the full text of congressional working papers and legislation, a wide variety of information about Congress, including member biographical and committee assignment information, voting records, financial data, and the full text of the Congressional Record. The full text of key regulatory and statutory resources is also included. The U.S. Serial Set module includes the full text of over 325,000 U.S. Government publications compiled under the directive of Congress covering the period from 1789 to 1979. The Serial Set captures every aspect of American life from the early 19th century onward, from farming, to westward expansion, scientific exploration, politics, international relations, business, and manufacturing. It includes Congressional reports and documents as well as executive agency and departmental reports ordered to be printed by Congress.

Use Proquest Congressional with U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection to:

* Discover a law's intent by tracing its legislative history
* Gauge Congressional attitudes toward current topics
* Find out how members of Congress voted on legislation
* Investigate the finances of members of Congress
* Monitor legislation and public policy on almost any topic
* Review the federal regulations that implement legislation
* Learn the makeup and mission of Congressional committees
* Access "Hot Bills" and topics of Congress
* Research various aspects of United States history

LexisNexis Statistical DataSets

Note: Now called Data-Planet Statistical Datasets

Data-Planet Statistical DataSets aggregates over 590 licensed and public domain datasets provided by over 50 sources and makes that data available from within a single interface. Users scan the contents of these datasets, select subjects and variables of interest, and view the data in side-by-side tables and charts. The product also provides accompanying metadata in the form of citation records to provide details on how the data were collected and obtained.

LexisNexis Statistical Insight

Note: Now called Proquest Statistical Insight

Proquest Statistical puts millions of facts and figures at your fingertips. Well over 400,000 indexed tables of data from international, federal, state and private sources are available for search and retrieval, with tens of thousands more added yearly. In addition, LexisNexis Statistical provides online access to the following highly respected finding aids for statistical data:

International Sources: Index to International Statistics (IIS) 1983-
IIS abstracts and indexes key statistical titles from international intergovernmental organizations like the UN, EU, OECD, IMF, and World Bank.

Federal Sources: American Statistics Index (ASI) 1973-
The U.S. Government is the world's most important and prolific publisher of statistics. ASI indexes and abstracts statistical data published by all branches and agencies of the Federal Government, including both depository and non-depository publications. ASI includes federal agency publications that contain social, economic, demographic, or natural resources data, and a selection of publications with scientific and technical data.

State and Private Sector Sources: Statistical Reference Index (SRI) 1980-
SRI identifies statistical data published by consumer and trade magazines, private organizations, state government agencies, business organizations, independent research organizations, and universities and affiliated research centers. Publications covered by SRI contain important statistics on business, industry and finance, general economic conditions, government programs and politics, and social trends. SRI offers access to national data, such as production, costs, and earnings in major industries; statewide data, such as statistics on crime, health, or employment; data on foreign countries, such as world economic and demographic trends; and local or narrowly focused data, such as detail by county and municipality.

LGBT Life with Full Text
LGBT Life contains indexing and abstracts for more than 130 LGBT-specific core periodicals and over 290 LGBT-specific core books and reference works. Full text for 50 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as dozens of full text monographs is also included. LGBT Life provides comprehensive coverage of traditional academic, cultural, lifestyle, and regional publications, including The Advocate, Lesbian News, Washington Blade, Bay Area Reporter, etc. (adapted from Ebsco description)
Library & Information Science Abstracts
Note: New interface! Check out the quick start overview [pdf] and YouTube tutorials of the new interface.
Abstracts library & information science articles in over 440 periodicals from more than 68 countries and in more than 20 different languages. Coverage begins in 1969 and is updated every two weeks.
Library of Latin Texts
Note: Follow above link, then click "Enter Databases" button to access this resource
Library of Latin Texts is a full-text database of modern critical editions of Latin classical, patristic, and medieval Christian writers including the entire corpus of ancient Latin literature up to the second century A.D. The database also contains a significant amount of Neo-Latin Literature (after 1500) including decrees from modern ecumenical councils up to Vatican II and sixteenth century translations into Latin of important medieval works.
Library PressDisplay

Concurrent user limit: 6

Library PressDisplay provides access to issues from the last 90 days of over 2000 newspapers from around the world. The newspapers include the same content and are in the same format as the print edition of the newspaper, including full-color where applicable. Once inside a newspaper, click on a headline to read the article or zoom in to read the article as it appears in print. The archive is searchable by country, language, title, frontpage image, photograph, or headline. Most titles have "SmartNavigation" permitting individual articles to be printed out, translated between languages, or heard in an audio version.  Video demos are available.

Concurrent user limit: 6

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
LISTA indexes more than 600 periodicals plus books, research reports, and proceedings on subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, and information management. Coverage begins in the mid-1960s.
LIFE Photo Archive
The LIFE photo archive is a joint venture between LIFE and Google. Search millions of photographs, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time.
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts
Note: New interface! Check out the quick start overview [pdf] and YouTube tutorials of the new interface.
The LLBA abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. Abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications are included, as well as abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations. Coverage begins in 1973. (Updated monthly)
Literary Manuscripts (Berg)
Victorian Manuscripts from the Henry W. and Albert A. Berg Collection of The New York Public Library
Most of these unique manuscripts are unavailable in any medium elsewhere. They are supplemented by some rare printed materials, including early editions annotated by the authors. Each author collection is included in its entirety, allowing users to browse and search the manuscripts as they would in the Berg Reading Room. Authors represented in this collection include:

* Matthew Arnold
* The Brontes
* Elizabeth Barrett Browning
* Robert Browning
* Wilkie Collins
* Joseph Conrad
* Charles Dickens
* George Eliot
* George Gissing
* Thomas Hardy
* Henry James
* Dante Gabriel Rossetti
* John Ruskin
* Alfred Tennyson
* William Makepeace Thackeray
Literature Criticism Online

Note: New interface!  Gale has also added new workflow tools for information analysis including subject indexing, term clusters, and term frequency.

A comprehensive collection of literary criticism from classical to modern times. Includes online editions of Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC) and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (TCLC).

Literature Online

Note: New interface!  Proquest has provided additional product information and 'Search Tips.'

Searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 200 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources. (Updated monthly)

Literature Resource Center
In addition to biographical, bibliographical and contextual information from the Contemporary Authors and Dictionary of Literary Biography databases, Literature Resource Center provides access to full-text criticism from the Contemporary Literary Criticism Select database and selected criticism from other titles in Thomson Gale's Literary Criticism Series. These resources are supplemented by full-text from over 200 literary journals. Over 127,000 authors are covered.
LLMC Digital
Digitized legal and government documents from around the world.
Digitized legal and government documents from around the world.
London Times (1785-2006) [via Gale Times Digital Archive]
Note: Access now up to 2006 plus new interface
Searchable, full-text and full-image archive of every page of the (London) Times from 1785 to 2006.
Lynda.com
Courtesy of Temple University Computer Services
Unlimited access to an online library of high-quality instructional videos on the lastest software tools and skills
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z | All