All Databases A-Z

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z | All
NASA Astrophysics Data System
A NASA-funded project which contains millions of records in four bibliographic databases: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Instrumentation, Physics, and Geophysics. Preprints are available in many of these areas, as well as links to full-text journal articles.
NASA Technical Report Server
Access to NASA's current and historical technical literature since it was first released in 1994. NTRS provides access to approximately 500K aerospace related citations, 90K full-text online documents, and 111K images and videos. NTRS includes: conference papers, images, journal articles, photos, meeting papers, movies, patents, research reports, and technical videos.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts [via Proquest]
Note: New interface! Check out the quick start overview [pdf] and YouTube tutorials of the new interface.
The National Criminal Justice Reference Service Document Data Base contains summaries of more than 140,000 publications on criminal justice, including Federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research. Subject areas include corrections, courts, drugs and crime, law enforcement, juvenile justice, crime statistics, and victims of crime. The time period covered is from the early 1970's to the present. The Document Data Base is produced by NCJRS, a service of the National Institute of Justice, with the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention, Office for Victims of Crime, Bureau of Justice Statistics, and Bureau of Justice Assistance, all part of the Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice, and the Office of National Drug Control Policy.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts [via U.S. Department of Justice]
The National Criminal Justice Reference Service Document Data Base contains summaries of more than 140,000 publications on criminal justice, including Federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research. Subject areas include corrections, courts, drugs and crime, law enforcement, juvenile justice, crime statistics, and victims of crime. The time period covered is from the early 1970's to the present. The Document Data Base is produced by NCJRS, a service of the National Institute of Justice, with the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention, Office for Victims of Crime, Bureau of Justice Statistics, and Bureau of Justice Assistance, all part of the Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice, and the Office of National Drug Control Policy.
National Journal Political Resources
Includes the following resources from the National Journal Group:

--National Journal - Read the leading nonpartisan weekly on politics, policy and government.

--The Hotline - Track American politics and campaigns with coverage of each day

--CongressDaily - Follow the key players and legislative process on Capitol Hill.

--TechnologyDaily - Monitor important news and trends in information technology politics and policy.

--Almanac of American Politics - Get analysis and data on every member of Congress and their states and districts.

--Markup Reports & Bill Status - Get complete coverage of every congressional markup session, as well as constantly updated reports on key legislation.

--Ad Spotlight - Explore political and issue television ads with streaming audio or video.

--Poll Track - Start your research with a database of public opinion surveys from across the country.
National Science Digital Library
Funded by the National Science Foundation, the NSDL is a digital library of exemplary educational resources for social science, science, technology, engineering and mathematics. For all education levels, elementary through higher education.
Natural Standard
Natural Standard provides high quality, evidence-based information on dietary supplements (including herbs, vitamins, and minerals), functional foods, diets, complementary practices (modalities), exercises, and medical conditions.
Nature Publishing Group
This is the platform of the Nature Publishing Group (NPG), providing access to Nature journals in a variety of fields including biotechnology, cancer, medicine, genetics, immunology, materials science, microbiology, molecular cell biology, neuroscience, and pharmacology; also provided are publications from leading international organizations such as the Genetics Society and Cancer Research UK. From this site you can search all the Nature journals we subscribe to, or you can search within subjects or individual journal titles
Naxos Music Library

Naxos Music Library is a growing library of over 165,000 tracks from the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues. The music tracks can be streamed at either 20kbps (FM quality) or 64kbps (near-CD quality) depending on the speed of your internet connection. Genres include Classical, Jazz, World, Folk, and Chinese. Biographical information on composers and artists, and album liner notes are also included.

Minimum Technical Requirements

PC user:

* MS Windows 98SE, 2000, XP with MS IE 6.0 / Mozilla 1.7.1 / FireFox 1 / Netscape 7.1 / Opera 7.53 and Media Player 9 / 10
* Browser Settings: Privacy = Medium, ActiveX controls = Enable, Cookies = Accept, Pop-up Blocker = Off, Sound Scheme = No Sound.

Apple user:

* Mac OS X 10.2.8 / OS X 10.3.5 with MS IE 5.2 / Mozilla 1.7 / Netscape 7.1 / Opera 7.53 / Safari 1.0 and Media Player 9.0 ; or OS 8.6 / 9.0 with MS IE 5.1 and Media Player 7.1
* Browser Settings: Privacy = Medium, Cookies = Accept, Sound Effect = No

Concurrent user limit: 10

Naxos Music Library Jazz
Concurrent user limit: 10
Naxos Music Library Jazz provides approximately 20,000 tracks of jazz from over 1,900 albums. Labels include Naxos Jazz and the 22 labels of Fantasy Jazz.

Minimum Technical Requirements

PC user:

* MS Windows 98SE, 2000, XP with MS IE 6.0 / Mozilla 1.7.1 / FireFox 1 / Netscape 7.1 / Opera 7.53 and Media Player 9 / 10
* Browser Settings: Privacy = Medium, ActiveX controls = Enable, Cookies = Accept, Pop-up Blocker = Off, Sound Scheme = No Sound.

Apple user:

* Mac OS X 10.2.8 / OS X 10.3.5 with MS IE 5.2 / Mozilla 1.7 / Netscape 7.1 / Opera 7.53 / Safari 1.0 and Media Player 9.0 ; or OS 8.6 / 9.0 with MS IE 5.1 and Media Player 7.1
* Browser Settings: Privacy = Medium, Cookies = Accept, Sound Effect = No

Concurrent user limit: 10
Naxos Video Library
Concurrent user limit: 5
Naxos Video Library provides a streaming video library of over 200 classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries.
NCBI Bookshelf
A growing collection of biomedical titles from the National Center for Biotechnology Information
NDEO Dance Education Literature and Research Descriptive Index
Dance Education Literature and Research descriptive index (DELRdi) is an index of literature and research from 1926 to the present that informs teaching, learning, and future directions of research in the field of dance education. It contains extensive descriptions of 5,000 literary works including theses, dissertations, journal articles, conference proceedings and other reports from over 200 different publications and organizations and 147 university dance programs. In addition to providing basic citation information, the DELRdi provides detailed descriptive information on the methodology, techniques, and characteristics of the research documented in the index.
NetAdvantage

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage is a comprehensive source of business and investment information, offering on-line access to popular Standard & Poor's research products including:

--Bond Reports
--Company Profiles
--Compustat Excel Analytics and Compustat International Fundamental Reports with five (5) years of extensive data and charts that can be downloaded directly into Excel
--Corporation Records
--Fund Reports (more than 14,000 mutual funds are included)
--Industry Surveys (back to 1998) with Trends and Projections (back to April 1999)
--Global Industry Surveys (back to 2004)
--The Outlook (back to 1996)
--Register - Executives and Directors
--Register - Private Companies
--Register - Public Companies
--Security Dealers of North America
--Stock Reports

NetLibrary (EbscoHost eBook Collection)
Note: EbscoHost has acquired Netlibrary. NetLibrary is now called the EbscoHost eBook Collection.

(browse titles in Diamond Catalog)
The EbscoHost eBook Collection (formerly Netlibrary) provides online access to electronic versions of books from across all disciplines. Temple's collection is comprised of approximately 17,000 titles.
New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics
The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics, 2nd edition, edited by Steven N. Durlauf and Lawrence E. Blume, contains over 1,850 articles by more than 1,500 of the world's leading economists. Labor economics, human capital, industrial relations, and industrial organization are some of the broader topics of relevance with hundreds of related and narrower topics.
New Pauly
Note: New interface Dec 2011
Concurrent User Limt: 3
NOTE: English language version. German version also available.
English edition of the premier reference work for scholars of the ancient world. The online version includes the full-text of the published print version and is automatically updated when a new volume is published. The complete original German edition is also available online.
New York Times Full-Text / Full-Image (1851-2008) [via Proquest Historical Newspapers]

Incorporates the New York Times Index
Note: New interface! Check out the quick start overview [pdf] and YouTube tutorials of the new interface.

Nineteenth Century British Library Newspapers
19th Century British Library Newspapers contains full runs of 71 influential national and regional British newspapers from 1800-1900. This new collection includes newspapers from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Special attention was paid to include newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule. The penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes are also present in the collection.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online

This collection now includes Archives 5-8: Europe and Africa, Photography, Science, Technology and Medicine, and Women.

Online access to a wide range of primary source materials from the 19th century. Collections currently available are 1) Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange, 2) British Politics and Society, 3) British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture,  4) the Corvey Collection of European Literature, 1790-1840, 5) Europe and Africa, 6) Photography, 7) Science, Technology, and Medicine, and 8) Women.

Nineteenth-Century Fiction
250 novels from the period 1782 to 1903, including works by all the major Victorian novelists such as Dickens, Thackeray, the Brontes, Eliot and Hardy, as well as the landmarks of Gothic and other fiction from the Romantic period.
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories
When finished will include more than 100,000 pages of personal narratives including letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories. Much of the material is previously unpublished. Several thousand pages of Ellis Island Oral History interviews, indexed and searchable for the first time, are included. The materials begin around 1840 and extend to the present, focusing heavily on the period from 1920 to 1980. People from many countries are represented, including more recent waves of immigrants from Latin America and Asia. In selected cases, users can to hear the actual audio voices of the immigrants or view images of their scrapbooks.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries
When complete, North American Women's Letters and Diaries will be the largest collection of women's diaries and correspondence ever assembled. Spanning more than 300 years, it will bring the personal experiences of 1,500 women to researchers, students, and general readers. When complete the collection will include approximately 150,000 pages of published letters and diaries from individuals writing from Colonial times to 1950, plus 4,000 pages of previously unpublished materials. Drawn from more than 1,000 sources, including journal articles, pamphlets, newsletters, monographs, and conference proceedings, much of the material is in copyright. Represented are all age groups and life stages, all ethnicities, many geographical regions, the famous and the not so famous. More than 1,500 biographies will enhance the use of the database. The collection includes one of the most comprehensive bibliographies of women's diaries and letters yet published. It lists over 2,000 published and unpublished items from a variety of sources, including online resources and microform. (Updated yearly)
NTIS Electronic Catalog (National Technical Information Service)

A database of 450,000 titles from the National Technical Information Service of the US Dept of Commerce. This database can be used to locate and order government publications and other products issued by NTIS since 1990. Searching capability is limited to titles and topics. Most records do NOT include product summaries (Abstracts).

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z | All