All Databases A-Z

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z | All
OAIster
OAIster is a union catalog of digital records that began at the University of Michigan, built by harvesting records using the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting (OAI-PMH). Today, OAIster is one of the world's largest aggregators of records, boasting more than 19 million items from more than 1,000 contributors. Records contain a digital object link allowing users access to the object in a single click.

Digital resources in OAister include:

--Digitized (scanned) books and articles
--Digital text
--Audio fles (WAV, MP3)
--Video fles (MP4, Quicktime)
--Photographic images (JPEG, TIFF, GIF)
--Data sets (downloadable statistical information
OECD iLibrary
From the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development. Covers Agriculture & Food, Development, Education, Energy, Environment, Finance and Investment, Social Issues, Transport and more. OECD iLibrary comprises three sections: Studies (books and reports) by Theme, Periodicals and Statistics. The Statistics channel delivers access to the OECD's statistical databases allowing users real-time access to the latest data. (Updated daily)
OMMBID (Online Metabolic and Molecular Bases of Inherited Disease)
A compendium of genetic disorders that provides the latest knowledge on the molecular and metabolic underpinnings of a growing list of inherited diseases, as well as updates on pathophysiology and treatment.
Online Books Page
A listing of thousands of free books on the web.
Opera in Video
The Opera in Video collection contains an overview of commonly studied operas in music history, opera literature, and performance classes. Included are videos of staged productions of important opera performances, interviews, and documentaries. Multiple performances and stagings worldwide of the major operas allow for analysis of stage design, vocal techniques, roles, and musical interpretation across time periods, opera houses, and conductors. Performances cover the full range of operatic composition, from the Baroque to the 20th century. Users can browse by composer, genre, performer, ensemble, time period, and role.
OpinionArchives
New access to Moment, the New Leader, the Progressive, Washington Monthly, and the Weekly Standard.
Concurrent user limit: 2 per magazine title
Simultaneously search the archives of the following journals of opinion:

American Spectator
Commentary
Commonweal
Dissent
Harpers Magazine
Moment
NACLA
The Nation
The National Review
The New Leader
The New Republic
New York Review of Books
The New Yorker
Orion Magazine
The Progressive
Washington Monthly
The Weekly Standard
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Provides information on all sides of various social issues and hot topics. Includes pro and con essays, topic overviews, periodical articles, statistics, and images
Oral History Online

Oral History Online, published by Alexander Street, is the most comprehensive online index of oral history collections in English, with access to full text, audio, video, or bibliographic citations for more than 2,000 English oral history collections from all over the world. The narratives cover thousands of subjects from the late 19th Century to present, including civil rights and race relations, labor history, African American history, women's history, immigration studies, political history, American Indian history, regional history, and more. Oral History Online provides keyword searching of more than 129,000 pages of full-text by some 4,300 individuals, as well as pointers to some 1,400 audio and video files and over 10,000 bibliographic records. Additional indexing also permits searching by narrators' age, race, occupation, birth and death dates; by interview subject and place; by repository information; and many other search criteria.

Organic Reactions
Note: The Structure Search option is not available to Temple users.
Organic Reactions is a comprehensive collection of important synthetic reactions, together with a critical discussion of the reaction and tables that organize all published examples of the topic reactions. Chapters that focus on reactions of current interest are solicited by the board of editors from leading chemists worldwide. The publication process entails a comprehensive peer-review process, ensuring the high quality and attention to detail for which this series is noted. Organic Reactions currently consists of over 140,000 reactions, and will continue to grow annually.
Oxford African American Studies Center
Over 7,500 articles, images, and maps dealing with African American history and culture drawn from Oxford University Press reference sources. Further details are available here.
Oxford Art Online
Note: Now includes the Benezit Dictionary of Artists
Concurrent user limit: 11
Oxford Art Online covers all aspects of visual art and contains articles, images, artist biographies and reference resource entries. It includes Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.

Concurrent user limit: 11
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Concurrent user limit: 6
The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is an illustrated collection of more than 50,000 specially written biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past, from the fourth century BC to the year 2001 (as of January 2005). Published on 23 September 2004, the Dictionary took 10,000 people twelve years' to compile and resulted in a 60 volume book which has been translated to a website with over 100,000 pages and more than 10,000 images. The dictionary covers remarkable people in any walk of life who were connected with the British Isles-excluding living people. It includes not just the great and good, but people who have left a mark for any reason, good, bad, or bizarre. The online version includes a wide range of searching options from specialized biographical search terms to powerful full text searches. Extensive internal cross-referencing makes it possible to move easily to related articles, while ever growing lists of external links to carefully selected web sites (including the British National Archives) open up exciting new research possibilities.

Concurrent user limit: 6
Oxford English Dictionary
The OED Online contains the complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition, first published in 1989, together with its 3-volume Additions Series, published in 1993 (volumes 1 and 2) and 1997 (volume 3). Many of the entries in the Additions volumes consist of sections which are additions to an entry previously published in the Second Edition; such sections are appended to the end of the appropriate Second Edition entry. Complete entries published for the first time in the Additions volumes are presented as free-standing entries, along with entries from the Second Edition.
Oxford Handbooks Online
Concurrent user limit: 2 per subject area
Online access to Business, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion titles in the Oxford Handbooks Series.
Oxford History of Western Music
The Oxford History of Western Music presents Richard Taruskin's unmatched narrative account of the evolution of Western classical music online for the very first time. The full text from the five-volume 2009 paperback edition has been reproduced, as have notes, bibliographies, and further readings for each of the 69 chapters. numerous illustrations, and 1,800 musical examples.
Oxford Journals Online
Major international publisher of over 180 academic and research journals, many in partnership with the world's leading prestigious learned societies. The collections cover Life Sciences, Mathematics & Physical Sciences, Medicine, Social Sciences, Humanities, and Law.
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online
Concurrent user limit: 3
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online (OLDO) features fully searchable, completely comprehensive bilingual dictionaries, and unique study materials that provide extra help with learning and using an expanding range of languages. Offering over 4 million words, phrases and translations in French, German, Spanish, Italian, Russian, and Chinese, OLDO also features native speaker audio pronunciation - allowing you to hear how words actually sound. More than just a dictionary, OLDO offers a complete suite of language learning support materials for users of all levels: click-through verb tables and pronunciation charts, explanations of grammatical terms, hundreds sample letters, CVs and resumes, notes on life and culture, guidance on grammar and idiomatic usage, extensive links to other sites for further research, and more.
Oxford Music Online
Concurrent user limit: 11
Oxford Music Online is a gateway that offers users the ability to access and cross-search several works, including: Grove's Dictionary of Music and Musicians, Oxford Companion to Music, and Oxford Dictionary of Music (Second Edition Revised). Sources can be searched independently or together.

Concurrent user limit: 11
Oxford Reference Online

New interface Sept 2012 / (browse titles in Diamond Catalog)

Oxford Reference Online includes well over 100 subject and language reference sources from Oxford University Press, including many titles from the Oxford Companions Series. Browse or search single titles, specific subject areas, or the entire collection.

Oxford Reports on International Law

This database is a case reporting service that presents issues in public international law being decided in the domestic courts of more than 65 jurisdictions around the world. Legal experts provide detailed analysis of the core legal issues, highlight the most salient points of the case, and provide historical and legal context to analyze the significance of the decision.

Oxford Scholarship Online
Note: Temple does not have access to all titles in Oxford Scholarship Online
(browse titles in Diamond Catalog)
Oxford Scholarship Online is a cross-searchable library containing the full text of important scholarly books from Oxford University Press. Oxford Scholarship Online includes both classic and newly-published works in the humanities and social sciences. Temple subscribes to titles in the Biology, Business, Classics, Economics, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Math, Music, Neuroscience, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Psychology, Public Health, Religion, and Social Work subject-area collections.
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z | All