All Databases A-Z

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z | All
PAIS International (1915-)
Note: New interface! Check out the quick start overview [pdf] and YouTube tutorials of the new interface.
PAIS indexes national and international public policy information from journal articles, books, conference research reports, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. PAIS contains some foreign language material but all index entries and abstracts are in English. Since PAIS tends to cover topics that are, have been or may become the focus of legislation it is particularly germane for students in the departments or schools of business administration, history, economics, law, political science, social administration, criminal justice, sociology and geography and urban studies, American studies and, African American studies. PAIS is a good choice if peer reviewed journals and or primary sources are needed to fulfill research requirements. (Updated monthly)
Papers of Dwight David Eisenhower
The Papers of Dwight David Eisenhower is the online version of the 21 volume print collection of the same name, which includes the most significant letters, memoranda, cables, and directives written or dictated by Eisenhower from the years prior to World War II through the full term of his presidency. This collection includes documents—many of them previously classified—from private collections and public archives in the U.S. and U.K., as well as papers from the Eisenhower Presidential Library.
PapersFirst
Contains citations of papers presented at worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses, and symposia. The Proceedings database contains records for the meetings that relate to the papers described in PapersFirst. Covers October 1993 to the present. Adds new records monthly.
Past Masters
Concurrent user limit: 5
Past Masters is a collection of hundreds of electronic texts in philosophy. Contents include texts by philosophers such as Plato, Aristotle, Bacon, Hobbes, Locke, Berkeley, Hume, Descartes, Spinoza, Leibniz, Machiavelli, Rousseau, Bentham, Mill, Sidgwick, Dewey, Peirce, Santayana, Wittgenstein, and more. A search engine provides the ability to search hundreds of thousands of pages of text for any word or combination. The software provides an index of each word in the text, with each word linked directly to the relevant passages.

Concurrent user limit: 5
Patai's Chemistry of Functional Groups (1995 - Present)

Patai covers all aspects of the chemistry of functional groups - an essential tool for the organic chemist - including physical organic chemistry, analytical chemistry and techniques, reaction mechanisms, chapters on synthetic pathways, reactions and strategies as well as applications in drug discovery, pharmaceuticals, biochemistry and molecular biology.

Patent Searching and Images [via the European Patent Office]

Full-text of European (EP), World (WO) and other patents back to the 1970's. Also links to individual European country patent databases.

Patent Searching and Images [via US Patent & Trademark Office]
All US patents from 1790 - present. Download or view images of the actual patents (requires TIFF image plug-in). Patents from 1976 to the present are available full text in an HTML text format.
Patrologia Latina
The Patrologia Latina Database is an electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865. The Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. The database contains the complete Patrologia Latina, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes. Migne's column numbers, essential references for scholars, are included.
PBS Video Collection New

The PBS Video Collection assembles hundreds of the greatest documentary films and series from the history of PBS into one convenient online interface.The diverse subject matter of the included films makes this an important collection for the study of history, science, business, technology, performing arts, anthropology, psychology, politics, health, and literature.

Pennsylvania County Histories to 1900
Note: Select "American County Histories"
A collection of full-text histories of Pennsylvania's counties written between 1870 and 1900.
Pennsylvania Gazette 1728-1800
Published in Philadelphia from 1728 through 1800, The Pennsylvania Gazette is considered The New York Times of the 18th century. It provides the reader with a first hand view of colonial America, the American Revolution and the New Republic, and offers important social, political and cultural perspectives of each of the periods. Thousands of articles, editorials, letters, news items and advertisements cover the Western Hemisphere, from the Canadian Maritime Provinces, through the West Indies and North and South America, giving a detailed glimpse of issues and lifestyles of the times. Also included is the full-text of such important writings such as: the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution, Letters from a Farmer, Thomas Payne`s Common Sense, The Federalist Papers, etc.
Pennsylvania Genealogical Catalogue: Chester County 1809-1870
This database is primarily a listing of marriages, deaths and obituaries from the Village Record, published in West Chester, Pennsylvania. Included, however is information about emigration patterns, customs and traditions, important events, medical history, biographical data, etc.
Pennsylvania Newspaper Record: Delaware County 1819-1870
This database documents the industrialization of predominantly agrarian culture established by Quaker farmers in the 18th century. This collection contains full-text transcriptions of articles, advertisements, and vital statistics, providing insight into technology, business activity and material culture in a down-river milling and manufacturing community at the height of the Industrial Revolution. It includes material from the following newspapers:

Delaware County American, Media, Pennsylvania
Delaware County Republican, Darby & Chester, Pennsylvania
The Upland Union, Chester, Pennsylvania
Delaware County Democrat, Chester, Pennsylvania
The Post Boy, Chester, Pennsylvania
Periodicals Archive Online

Periodicals Archive Online is a major online periodical archive that makes the backfiles of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the full text of a growing number of digitized periodicals that have been indexed in its sister database, Periodicals Index Online. As of early 2009, Periodicals Archive Online contains over 550 journals, providing access to over 13.2 million article pages - representing over 2 million articles.

Periodicals Index Online

Periodicals Index Online is an electronic index to millions of articles published in over 5,000 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences. It is unique in combining a broad subject base with deep chronological coverage going back over 300 years. As of early 2007, over 16 million articles going as far back as 1665 are currently indexed. Every article in each journal covered is indexed, from volume 1 issue 1 to recent times.

Persee

Provides full-text online versions of back issues of selected French journals in the humanities and social sciences.

Perseus Digital Library
The Perseus Project is an evolving digital library of resources for the study of the humanities. Perseus is best known for its strong classics collection.
PGM Database
Platinum Metals Group Database
The PGM Database is a collection of published data and internal Johnson Matthey data defining the physical properties and characteristics of the six platinum group metals and their alloys. The database can display a datasheet of material properties, giving a comprehensive picture of a material and its capabilities. Also available at this site is the quarterly Platinum Metals Review E-journal, supporting the science and technology of the platinum group metals (see "PMR Home").
Philadelphia Daily News
Full-text of the Philadelphia Daily News via Proquest Newsstand from 1983 to present.
Philadelphia Inquirer (1834-1922)
Full-text of the Philadelphia Inquirer via Readex from 1834 to 1922.
Philadelphia Inquirer (1983-present)
Full-text of the Philadelphia Inquirer via Proquest Newsstand from 1983 to present.
Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001)
Note: New interface! Check out the quick start overview [pdf] and YouTube tutorials of the new interface.
Full-text and full-image of the Philadelphia Tribune via Proquest Historical Newspapers
Philosopher's Index
Note: New interface! Check out the quick start overview [pdf] and YouTube tutorials of the new interface.
Philosopher's Index contains 213,000 bibliographic citations with author abstracts covering scholarly research in the fifteen fields of philosophy. It offers complete coverage of all major articles from anthologies and books written in English, Spanish, German, Italian, and French -- over 480 journals from 38 countries published since 1940. Topics include all major fields of philosophy, including Aesthetics, Epistemology, Ethics, Logic (including mathematics), Metaphysics (including philosophy of mind, existentialism, and phenomenology), Political philosophy (including philosophy of law), Social philosophy, and the Philosophy of Education, History, Language, Science and Religion. Does not include book reviews. (Updated quarterly)
PhilPapers

PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. Using advanced trawling techniques and large scale crowdsourcing, we monitor all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics. We also host the largest open access archive in philosophy. PhilPapers has over 70,000 registered users.

PhilSci Archive
Electronic archive for preprints in the philosophy of science. (Updated daily)
Physical Education Index
Note: New interface! Check out the quick start overview [pdf] and YouTube tutorials of the new interface.
Since 1970 Physical Education Index has been covering peer-reviewed journals, report literature, conference proceedings, trade magazines, patents, articles from the popular press, and many other publications relevant to the field of physical education. Physical Education Index provides citation information and abstracts to journal articles about physical education and related disciplines (sports, sports medicine, dance, coaching, fitness, motor learning, etc.) from 303 core scholarly journals and numerous other publications. (Updated monthly)
PILOTS Database (Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress)

Note: New interface! Check out the quick start overview [pdf] and YouTube tutorials of the new interface.

Interdisciplinary bibliographical database produced by the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder that covers the Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress (PILOTS). Although sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, the PILOTS database is not limited to literature on PTSD among veterans. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on PTSD and other mental-health after-effects of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations. The database includes citations and abstracts to journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and government documents.

Pivot

Sign up for a COS Pivot profile with your Temple email address to track funding opportunities, save and share searches, find personal funding matches, and enjoy other customized features.

Pivot focuses on what matters most to Research Administrators, Research Development Professionals, and their institutions: the ability to identify and connect funding opportunities to researchers at their institution. Pivot combines the most comprehensive, editorially maintained database of funding opportunities worth an estimated $33 billion with our unique database of 3 million pre-populated scholar profiles, drawing from Community of Scholars and Community of Science profiles.

Play Index [via EbscoHost]
Search over 30,000 plays written from Antiquity to the present and published from 1949 to the present. Play Index covers a wide range of plays written in or translated into English, including mysteries, pageants, plays in verse, puppet performances, radio and television plays, and classic drama. Search for plays by title; author; subject (sisters, culture conflict, marriage); style (symbolism, experimental theater); genre (comedy, melodrama, musical); cast type; and more. Play Index provides the full publication details needed to locate the play in its published manifestations. For plays published separately, the publisher, date, pagination, ISBN, and LC number are given. Plays in collections link to full bibliographic information.
POIESIS

POIESIS is a searchable and browseable database of over 40 important scholarly philosophy journals. Full text access is available for most of the journals.

PolicyMap

PolicyMap is a web-based Geographic Information System that provides a simple mechanism for visualizing data. Available data includes demographics, home sale statistics, health data, mortgage trends, school performance scores and labor data like unemployment, crime statistics and city crime rates.

Polling the Nations
Compilation of more than 14,000 surveys conducted by more than 700 polling organizations in the United States and more than 80 other countries from 1986 to the present. Each of the nearly 350,000 records reports a question asked and the responses given. Also included in each record is the polling organization responsible for the work, the date the information was released, the sample size, and universe. All the surveys reported here were conducted using scientifically selected random samples.
Pollution Abstracts
Note: New interface! Check out the quick start overview [pdf] and YouTube tutorials of the new interface.
This database provides fast access to the environmental information necessary to resolve day-to-day problems, ensure ongoing compliance, and handle emergency situations more effectively. Pollution Abstracts combines information on scientific research and government policies in a single resource. Topics of growing concern are extensively covered from the standpoints of atmosphere, emissions, mathematical models, effects on people and animals, and environmental action in response to global pollution issues. To ensure comprehensive coverage, material from conference proceedings and hard-to-find documents has been summarized along with information from primary journals in the field. (Updated monthly)
Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, 1802 - 1907
Note: Part of C19: The Nineteenth Century Index
POPLINE
Provides more than 300,000 citations covering reproductive health with abstracts to scientific articles, reports, books, and unpublished reports in the field of population, family planning, and related health issues. Includes links to free, fulltext documents, the ability to limit your search to peer-reviewed journal articles, and many abstracts in French and Spanish. It is updated twice each month, and has content from 1827 to the present. POPLINE is maintained by the INFO Project at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health/Center for Communication Programs and is funded primarily by the United States Agency for International Development.
Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 New

Note: Section II just added! Also, this resource is no longer called Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and Protest.

Contains substantial collections of original archival material (manuscript, typescript and ephemera) covering popular culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975. Among topics covered are Changing Lifestyles, 1950-1975, Youth Culture, Student Protests, Mai '68, Popular Culture (TV, Music, Movies), Civil Rights (Women's Liberation, Minority Groups), the Space Race, Consumerism, Vietnam War, and Nuclear Disarmament.

Population Index (1986 - 2000)
Population Index, published since 1935, is the primary reference tool to the world's population literature. It presents an annotated bibliography of recently published books, journal articles, working papers, and other material on population topics.The entire published database for 1986-1998 (Volumes 52-64) is available on-line and can be searched by author, subject matter, geographical region, and year of publication. We are happy to announce that we have added a free-text search capacity to our Web pages. Free-text search is now available for all issues from 1986 to 1998. It enables you to search for text anywhere in a citation, including the title, series, and abstract. (Updated monthly)
Primary Search
Designed specifically for elementary school libraries and public library children's rooms, contains full text for more than 60 popular, elementary school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 100 magazines. Full text is also available for over 100 student pamphlets. Examples of publications covered in Primary Search include: Appleseeds, Boys' Life, Cobblestone, Cricket, Highlights for Children, Hopscotch, Jack & Jill, Ladybug, Ranger Rick, Science World, Spider, SuperScience, Time for Kids, Turtle, and many more. This database also provides the American Heritage Children's Dictionary, 3rd Edition from Houghton Mifflin, and an Image Collection of 107,000 photos, maps and flags. Many full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text backfiles go as far back as 1989, while indexing and abstract backfiles go as far back as 1984. (Ebsco description)
PrimateLit
The PrimateLit database provides bibliographic access to the scientific literature on nonhuman primates for the research and educational communities. It covers a wide range of publication types (articles, books, abstracts, technical reports, dissertations, book chapters, etc.) and subject categories (behavior, ecology, physiology, pharmacology, evolution, developmental and molecular biology, genetics, etc.).
ProceedingsFirst
Over 19,000 citations of publications from worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses, and symposia. Covers 1993 to the present. (Updated twice weekly)
Project Muse

Note: New interface January 2012

Project Muse provides access to full-text journals, as well as ebooks from university presses.  Temple does not have access to all available ebooks.

Proquest Arts & Humanities Full Text
Note: New interface! Check out the quick start overview [pdf] and YouTube tutorials of the new interface.
Full text coverage of journals in Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
Proquest Congressional

Note: Proquest Congressional has moved to a new platform.   Information about the new interface may be found here.  Includes the U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection.

Provides access to the full text of congressional working papers and legislation, a wide variety of information about Congress, including member biographical and committee assignment information, voting records, financial data, and the full text of the Congressional Record. The full text of key regulatory and statutory resources is also included. The U.S. Serial Set module includes the full text of over 325,000 U.S. Government publications compiled under the directive of Congress covering the period from 1789 to 1979. The Serial Set captures every aspect of American life from the early 19th century onward, from farming, to westward expansion, scientific exploration, politics, international relations, business, and manufacturing. It includes Congressional reports and documents as well as executive agency and departmental reports ordered to be printed by Congress.

Use Proquest Congressional with U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection to:

* Discover a law's intent by tracing its legislative history
* Gauge Congressional attitudes toward current topics
* Find out how members of Congress voted on legislation
* Investigate the finances of members of Congress
* Monitor legislation and public policy on almost any topic
* Review the federal regulations that implement legislation
* Learn the makeup and mission of Congressional committees
* Access "Hot Bills" and topics of Congress
* Research various aspects of United States history

ProQuest Criminal Justice

Note: New interface! Check out the quick start overview [pdf] and YouTube tutorials of the new interface.

Proquest Criminal Justice Periodicals Index covers approximately 250 U.S. and international criminal justice journals, including over 100 in full-text.

Proquest Digital Microfilm
Digitized versions of the print Philadelphia Inquirer and Philadelphia Daily News.
Proqest Digital Microfilm provides digitized versions of the printed editions of newspapers. Temple currently subscribes to the Philadelphia Inquirer and Philadelphia Daily News.
Proquest Dissertations & Theses
Note: New interface! Check out the quick start overview [pdf] and YouTube tutorials of the new interface.
Previously known as Digital Dissertations, this is the definitive guide to more than 2 million doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Proquest Disseretations & Theses helps you identify more than 90 percent of the doctoral dissertations accepted each year in North America. The database also covers thousands of dissertations and theses from around the globe.

Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1861, and more than 55,000 new citations are added to the database every year. Full-text Temple University dissertations from as far back as the 1950's are included along with 24-page previews of thousands of other dissertations.

Proquest Dissertations & Theses @ Temple University is a subset of the larger database, including only dissertations and theses from Temple University.
Proquest Dissertations & Theses @ Temple University
A subset of Proquest Dissertations & Theses that only includes Temple dissertations and theses.
Note: New interface! Check out the quick start overview [pdf] and YouTube tutorials of the new interface.
Previously known as Digital Dissertations, this is the definitive guide to more than 2 million doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Proquest Disseretations & Theses helps you identify more than 90 percent of the doctoral dissertations accepted each year in North America. The database also covers thousands of dissertations and theses from around the globe.

Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1861, and more than 55,000 new citations are added to the database every year. Full-text Temple University dissertations from as far back as the 1950's are included along with 24-page previews of thousands of other dissertations.

Proquest Dissertations & Theses @ Temple University is a subset of the larger database, including only dissertations and theses from Temple University.
Proquest Historical Newspapers

Note: New interface! Check out the quick start overview [pdf] and YouTube tutorials of the new interface.

Incldues the following historical newspaper runs:

Atlanta Daily World
Baltimore Afro-American
Baltimore Sun
Boston Globe
Chicago Defender
Chicago Tribune
Guardian & Observer
Irish Times
Jewish Exponent
Los Angeles Times
New York Amsterdam News
New York Times
Philadelphia Tribune
Pittsburgh Courier
Scotsman
Wall Street Journal
Washington Post

Proquest History Vault

Includes NAACP Papers and documents relating to slavery and the law in the American South

Provides digitized versions of primary source materials previously published in microfilm. Temple has purchased the following modules:

NAACP Papers: Board of Directors, Annual Conferences, Major Speeches, and National Staff Files
NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Education, Voting, Housing, Employment, Armed Forces
Slavery and the Law

Proquest Legislative Insight

ProQuest Legislative Insight is a Federal legislative history service that makes available thoroughly researched compilations of digital full text publications created by Congress during the process leading up to the enactment of U.S. Public Laws. The legislative histories are comprised of fully searchable PDFs of full-text publications generated in the course of congressional lawmaking. These include the full text of the Public Law itself, all versions of related bills, law-specific Congressional Record excerpts, committee hearings, reports, and prints. Also included are Presidential signing statements, CRS reports, and miscellaneous congressional publications that provide background material to aid in the understanding of issues related to the making of the law.

Proquest Newsstand
Full-text of hundreds of U.S. and international news sources.
Proquest Political Science

Note: New interface! Check out the quick start overview [pdf] and YouTube tutorials of the new interface.

Full text journals in political science and related fields.

Proquest Social Science Journals
Note: New interface! Check out the quick start overview [pdf] and YouTube tutorials of the new interface.
Full text journals in the social sciences.
Proquest Sociology

Note: New interface! Check out the quick start overview [pdf] and YouTube tutorials of the new interface.

Full text of journals in sociology and related fields.

Proquest Statistical Insight

Proquest Statistical puts millions of facts and figures at your fingertips. Well over 400,000 indexed tables of data from international, federal, state and private sources are available for search and retrieval, with tens of thousands more added yearly. In addition, Proquest Statistical provides online access to the following highly respected finding aids for statistical data:

International Sources: Index to International Statistics (IIS) 1983-
IIS abstracts and indexes key statistical titles from international intergovernmental organizations like the UN, EU, OECD, IMF, and World Bank.

Federal Sources: American Statistics Index (ASI) 1973-
The U.S. Government is the world's most important and prolific publisher of statistics. ASI indexes and abstracts statistical data published by all branches and agencies of the Federal Government, including both depository and non-depository publications. ASI includes federal agency publications that contain social, economic, demographic, or natural resources data, and a selection of publications with scientific and technical data.

State and Private Sector Sources: Statistical Reference Index (SRI) 1980-
SRI identifies statistical data published by consumer and trade magazines, private organizations, state government agencies, business organizations, independent research organizations, and universities and affiliated research centers. Publications covered by SRI contain important statistics on business, industry and finance, general economic conditions, government programs and politics, and social trends. SRI offers access to national data, such as production, costs, and earnings in major industries; statewide data, such as statistics on crime, health, or employment; data on foreign countries, such as world economic and demographic trends; and local or narrowly focused data, such as detail by county and municipality.

PsycARTICLES
PsycARTICLES is a full-text ejournal collection from the American Psychological Association, Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber Publishers.
PsychiatryOnline
Includes the DSM Library
Online access to the full-text of the DSM-IV TR as well as five journals from American Psychiatric Publishing, including the American Journal of Psychiatry.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
The Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection, one of the separately searchable database sub-sets of EBSCOhost, is a database with more than 500 peer-reviewed full-text journals. It covers topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
PsycINFO [via EBSCOhost]
PsycINFO(1887-present) PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Journal coverage, spanning 1887-present, includes international material selected from more than 1300 periodicals written in over 25 languages. Current chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987-present. Over 55,000 references are added annually through monthly updates. --American Psychological Association
PsycINFO [via Ovid]
PsycINFO(1887-present) PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Journal coverage, spanning 1887-present, includes international material selected from more than 1300 periodicals written in over 25 languages. Current chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987-present. Over 55,000 references are added annually through monthly updates. --American Psychological Association
PubMed
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. It provides coverage of biomedical journals from the United States and 80 other countries, dating back to the mid-1950's.
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z | All