All Databases A-Z

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z | All
U.S. Supreme Court Records & Briefs, 1832-1978
Supreme Court Records and Briefs (SCRB) comprises over 150,000 cases from the generation before the American Civil War to the decade of the Vietnam War and Watergate. It covers every aspect of law: civil rights law; constitutional law; corporate law; environmental law; gender law; labor law; legal history and legal theory; property law; taxation; trademark and intellectual property law, among other subjects. Document types include Appellant's Brief; Appellee's Brief; Application for Review; Application for Writ; Brief in Opposition; Brief of Real Party; Intervenor's Brief; Jurisdictional Statement; Letter Brief; Opposition for Review; Oral Transcript; Petition; Petition for Rehearing; Petitioner's Brief; Petition for Writ of Certiorari; Relator's Brief; Supplement to Petition; Transcript; among other sources.

Famous briefs include those written by leading attorneys, future associates of the Court, institutions, corporations, and advocacy groups: N.A.A.C.P.; ACLU; The New York Times; Louis D. Brandeis; Abe Fortas; Thurgood Marshall; Ruth Bader Ginsburg.

The collection is of interest to scholars and patrons interested in all aspects of American constitutional, political, legal, social, economical, cultural, and intellectual history.

SCRB is derived from two essential reference sources. For the period 1832 (when printed Court records began) through 1915, the documents are based primarily on the holdings of the Jenkins Memorial Law Library, America's first law library, located in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. For 1915-1978 the source is the Library of the Association of the Bar of the City of New York, a nationally recognized research facility and the single largest member supported law library in the United States.

SCRB features a fully searchable database of approximately 11 million pages and more than 350,000 separate documents. Approximately 150,000 Supreme Court cases are featured, the majority consisting of those for which the Court did not give a full opinion.
Ulrich's Periodical Directory
Ulrich's provides users with essential serials bibliographic and access information that ranges from subscription rates to the latest web sites. Nearly a quarter of a million consumer and trade magazines, academic and scholarly publications, monographic series, newsletters, newspapers, electronic publications, 'zines, and many other types of serial publications and services published throughout the world on all subjects, are profiled. Updated monthly. Covers over 240,000 serials, including details on almost 55,000 ceased titles. Includes ISSN, former ISSN(s) and former title(s) history, variant titles, editorial and classification data, start year, and frequency. Also pricing, subscription, and distribution details key publisher, editor, rights & permissions and advertising contact. Access options including document delivery, indexing services, online vendors are described. Includes:

* Listings of 80,000 publishers and distributors with full contact detail
* 59,034 e-mail addresses hotlinked
* 54,036 URLs hotlinked
* Nearly 8,000 reviews from Magazines for Libraries and Library Journal
* 18,422 refereed serials noted and searchable
* 15 document type indicators (e.g. A&I service, academic/scholarly publication, newspaper, newsletter, consumer publication, trade publication, etc.) to refine searching
United Nations Treaty Collection

The United Nations Treaty Collection consists of multiple collections of treaty-related data including: full-text multilateral treaties deposited with the UN Secretary-General; cumulative indices and full text of the League of Nations and United Nations Treaty series; a treaty status database; and a large collection of treaty reference material. The United Nations Treaty Collection is published by the Treaty Section of the Office of Legal Affairs of the United Nations.

Urban Studies Abstracts

Note: Urban Studies Abstracts will no longer be available as of February 2014.  Alternative resources include Summon and Academic Search Premier.

Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance. Records are selected from many of the top titles within the discipline, including Journal of Urban Affairs, Urban Studies, and Canadian Journal of Urban Research.

USA Counties
USA Counties, from the Census Bureau, compiles useful demographic, economic, and governmental information spanning several years and sources for county comparisons and profiles.
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z | All