All Databases A-Z

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z | All
Water Resources Abstracts
Note: New interface! Check out the quick start overview [pdf] and YouTube tutorials of the new interface.
Provides summaries of the world's technical and scientific literature on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources. Abstracts are drawn from journals, books, conference proceedings, and technical reports in the physical and life sciences, as well as from engineering, legal and government publications.

Until 1994, the database was produced by the United States Geological Survey, when it was generally known as Selected Water Resources Abstracts. Since that time, Water Resources Abstracts has been produced by Cambridge Scientific Abstracts, which broadened the scope by including more material published outside the U.S.A. This database, which concentrates on water supply and water treatment, complements the Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts database, ASFA, where there is greater coverage of the marine environment and biological material. (Updated monthly)
Web Gallery of Art
Virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture of the Gothic, Renaissance and Baroque periods (1150-1800), currently containing over 11,600 reproductions. Commentaries on pictures, biographies of artists are available.
Web of Science New

Note: Access now includes Book Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1994-present), Current Chemical Reactions (1994-present), and Index Chemicus (1994-present)

Includes: Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED), 1900-present; Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), 1956-present; Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A & HCI), 1975-present.

Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals
The Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals indexes major 19th century British periodicals on Victorian thought and opinion. Subjects covered include: literature, religion, politics, social science, women's studies, science and the arts. The Index also identifies authorship of unsigned articles and includes a table of contents for every periodical indexed.
Who's Who in American Art [via LexisNexis Academic]
Who's Who in American Art contains information on artists, curators, administrators, librarians, historians, collectors, and dealers associated with art in the United States. The entries include date and place of birth; education and training; exhibitions; museums holding the artist's work; books and articles written by the entrants or about them; the media in which the entrant works; the entrant's dealer or representative; and a mailing address.

When selecting artists for inclusion in this publication, consideration is given to works in public collections, commissioned works, and exhibitions of an international, national, and wide regional scope in noncommercial galleries and museums. Inclusion of entrants other than artists is based on position and experience in the art world.
Wiley Online Library

Full-text of over 400 current journals published by Wiley-Blackwell. The great majority of journals (but not all) are available to the Temple community online.

Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Literature
Full-text editions of:

Encyclopedia of the Novel
Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Fiction
Encyclopedia of Literary and Cultural Theory
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 (Scholar's Edition)
Note: Upgraded to the Scholar's Edition in June, 2012. Now includes access to the publications of the federal, state, and local Commissions on the Status of Women.
Brings together books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies, documenting the multiplicity of women's reform activities and examines perspectives on women's social movements from Colonial times to the present. WSM was developed by Thomas Dublin and Kathryn Kish Sklar of the State University of New York at Binghamton.
Women Writers Online

Hundreds of texts written by women between 1400 to 1850. All of these texts can be browsed, searched, and analysed using tools which provide access to the full SGML encoding.

World Bank e-Library

Note: Temple Libraries will cease subscribing to the World Bank e-Library after 12/31/12.  Much of the content included in World Bank e-Library will continue to be available to Temple users from the World Bank's Open Knowledge Repository

The World Bank e-library is an online, fully cross-searchable portal of over 5,000 World Bank documents. The collection consists of over 2,000 World Bank publications and over 3,200 Policy Research Working Papers, plus each new book and paper as they are published.

World Bank Open Knowledge Repository

The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products. More detailed information is available from the World Bank.

World Development Indicators
World Development Indicators (WDI) provides a comprehensive selection of economic, social and environmental indicators, drawing on data from the World Bank and more than 30 partner agencies. The database covers more than 900 indicators for 210 economies with data back to 1960.
World History Collection
Offers a global look at history with content from Africa, Asia, North and South America, Europe and the Middle East. World History Collection contains cover-to-cover full text for nearly 150 titles, including many peer-reviewed journals. Full text dates as far back as 1964. These hand-selected information sources cover a wide range of historical topics including anthropology, art, culture, economics, government, heritage, military, politics, regional issues, and more.
World News Connection Archive (1995-2013) New

Note: New interface!  World News Connection is now hosted by Eastview.

World News Connection is a full-text database produced by the U.S. Department of Commerce's National Technical Information Service. WNC indexes English translations of thousands of foreign media sources, including political speeches, television programs, radio broadcasts and articles from newspapers, periodicals, and books.

Coverage includes July 1994 - December 2013 (see FBIS Daily Reports for coverage back to 1974), and sources were translated and added to the database within 72 hours of their publication. Regional categories covered include: Central Eurasia, East Europe, East Asia, West Europe, Near East & South Asia, Latin America, China, and Sub-Saharan Africa. (Updated daily)

World Newspaper Archive

World Newspaper Archive is a single point of access for America's Historical Newspapers and Latin American Newspapers

World of Learning
Concurrent user limit: 1
Profiles some 30,000 academic institutions and over 200,000 staff and officials, covering the whole of the international higher education and learning spectrum.
World Scholar: Latin America and The Caribbean

World Scholar: Latin America & the Caribbean serves the needs of students and researchers by bringing together in a single place a rich collection of primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean; academic journals and news feeds covering the region; reference articles and commentary; maps and statistics; audio and video; and more.

World Shakespeare Bibliography
The World Shakespeare Bibliography Online is a searchable electronic database consisting of the most comprehensive record of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide since 1961. Containing over 120,000 annotated entries, this collected information is an essential tool for anyone engaged in research on Shakespeare or early modern England.
World Who's Who
Concurrent user limit: 1
From heads of state, politicians, religious leaders and ambassadors, to the eminent and successful in business, finance, technology, film, music, fashion, sport, literature and the performing arts, The World Who's Who outlines the lives and achievements of more than 25,000 of the most distinguished men and women from almost every country in the world.
WorldCat
More than 32 million records describing items owned by libraries around the world. Each record contains library holdings. Coverage/update frequency: from about 1000 A.D. to the present; adds new records daily. Includes holdings of 6,700 OCLC Member Libraries & Institutions.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Note: New interface! Check out the quick start overview [pdf] and YouTube tutorials of the new interface.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy. It currently monitors approximately 1,500 titles for coverage, of which 67are published outside the United States.

The references cited in the bibliography of the source article have been included for citations to core journals in political science added to the database since 2001, and for all journals added since 2004. Each individual reference may also have links to an abstract and/or to other papers that cite that reference; these references are linked both within Worldwide Political Science Abstracts and across other social science databases available on CSA Illumina. All records added since 2000 are indexed using a thesaurus of over 3,000 terms. (Updated monthly)
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z | All