Note: New interface! Check out the quick start overview [pdf] and YouTube tutorials of the new interface.
ABI/INFORM has been a premier source of business information for more than 30 years. The database contains abstracting and indexing from over 4,000 publications that help researchers track business conditions, trends, management techniques, corporate strategies, and industry-specific topics worldwide. Almost 3,000 titles are available full-text, including the Wall Street Journal.
Concurrent user limit: 5
Detailed profiles on over 20,000 U.S. & international advertisers with advertising expenditure by media, agencies retained by the Advertiser, brand names, annual sales and contact information for personnel. Detailed profiles on over 16,000 U.S. & international Advertising Agencies with accounts, specializations, billings by media and contact information for personnel. The database includes over 200,000 names & titles, 100,000 key personnel e-mails and over 100,000 brand names.
Concurrent user limit: 5
Anthropology Plus combines Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature into a single, unified database.
Anthropological Index covers scholarly literature from physical anthropology, archaeology, cultural ethnography, and linguistics. Anthropological Index entries are compiled from over 900 journals in the Library of the British Museum Department of Ethnography -- now known as the Anthropology Library -- which incorporates the former Royal Anthropological Institute library. Broad geographic coverage emphasizes the Commonwealth and Africa and extends to Eastern Europe, the Americas, Asia, Australasia, and the Pacific, including both standard journals and many titles outside the mainstream.
Supplied by the Tozzer Library at Harvard University, Anthropological Literature provides a broad subject index to articles and essays two or more pages in length from about 1000 journals, as well as colloquia and symposia, publications and Festschriften, in English and in other European languages. Covers late 19th century to the present. Updated quarterly.
Together, Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature provide international coverage with minimal overlap in citations, providing access to research in anthropology and related fields.
Concurrent user limit: 5
Anthropology Plus combines Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature into a single, unified database.
Anthropological Index covers scholarly literature from physical anthropology, archaeology, cultural ethnography, and linguistics. Anthropological Index entries are compiled from over 900 journals in the Library of the British Museum Department of Ethnography -- now known as the Anthropology Library -- which incorporates the former Royal Anthropological Institute library. Broad geographic coverage emphasizes the Commonwealth and Africa and extends to Eastern Europe, the Americas, Asia, Australasia, and the Pacific, including both standard journals and many titles outside the mainstream.
Supplied by the Tozzer Library at Harvard University, Anthropological Literature provides a broad subject index to articles and essays two or more pages in length from about 1000 journals, as well as colloquia and symposia, publications and Festschriften, in English and in other European languages. Covers late 19th century to the present. Updated quarterly.
Together, Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature provide international coverage with minimal overlap in citations, providing access to research in anthropology and related fields.
Concurrent user limit: 5
Provides abstract & indexing coverage for hundreds of periodicals in the art and architecture fields, many with full-text access.
Art Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. This database features full-text articles—as well as detailed indexing and abstracts—for an array of journals, books, podcasts and more. International in scope, Art Source includes periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch and is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.
1,200 plays, almost a quarter previously unpublished, have been carefully selected by well known experts such as James V. Hatch to create this landmark collection. The collection includes the complete works of leading playwrights such as Amiri Baraka and Ed Bullins. Fielded, searchable performance and cast information, materials by Black writers from Africa, the Caribbean and the United Kingdom, in addition to African Americans are included. (Updated one or two times a year)
Landmark electronic collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major black leaders in North America. Works by teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures form the corpus. Unlike their white counterparts, black leaders have had to wrestle with the issues of their race alongside the issues of leadership in their chosen professions. They have been forced to defend positions, justify actions, correct perceptions, protest injustice, celebrate cultural achievement, and confront the agenda of a white-dominated society.
Encompasses 100,000 pages of materials, beginning with the ideas of Frederick Douglass and including those of W.E.B. Du Bois, Carter G. Woodson, Alain Locke, Sidney Bechet, Paul Robeson, Booker T. Washington, Marcus Garvey, Langston Hughes, Sammy Davis, Jr., Charlotte Hawkins Brown, Dorothy Height, Thurgood Marshall, A. Philip Randolph, Constance Baker Motley, J. Saunders Redding, Sojourner Truth, Walter F. White, Amiri Baraka, and dozens more. Targeted for inclusion are the written and spoken words of Ralph Ellison, Malcolm X, Martin Luther King, Jr., Richard Wright, Angela Davis, Muhammad Ali, Jesse Jackson, Ida B. Wells, Bobby Seale, Rosa Parks, Gwendolyn Brooks, and a long list of others.
In addition to including the most familiar writings, Black Thought and Culture presents a great deal of previously inaccessible material, including letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, trial transcripts, and interviews. Much of the material is fugitive, and approximately twenty percent of the collection has not been published previously.
(browse titles in Diamond Catalog)
Online library of thousands of titles covering information technology and finance. Users can annotate books and create personal bookshelves of favorite titles. Temple subscribes to the ITPro and FinancePro collections.
Note: Business & Company Resource Center has moved to a new interface and is now called Business Insights: Global
Business & Company Resource Center brings together in a single database company profiles, company brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, and periodicals. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information. Covers 1980 - Sep 2000. (Updated daily)
Business Expert Press's Digital Libraries are filled with practical, concise books covering specific areas of business, including supply and operations management, international business, social media, finance, accounting, public relations, and marketing strategy. They're written by international authorities, specifically for students seeking bachelors or masters degrees.
Contains 2,804 full text scholarly journals and business periodicals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, etc, including Harvard Business Review, MIT Sloan Management Review, California Management Review, Administrative Science Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Industrial & Labor Relations Review, Journal of Management Studies, Journal of Marketing Management, Journal of Marketing Research (JMR), Journal of Marketing, Journal of International Marketing, etc. The database also includes many leading journals in the areas of economics, finance, and accounting, as well as country economic reports from the EIU, DRI-WEFA, ICON Group and CountryWatch. More than 200 of the journals have PDF full text back to 1965 or the first issue published, with more than 2,200 PDF?s. Business Source Premier contains PDF images for the great majority of journals; many of these PDF's are native (searchable) or scanned-in-color. (Updated daily)
(browse titles in Diamond Catalog)
Includes thousands of essays from over 300 authoritative guides in Cambridge Univesity Press' Companions series. Covers literature, philosophy, religion, classics and cultural studies.
Cambridge Histories Online contains scores of volumes from the various well-known Cambridge Histories published since 1960, including the Cambridge Modern History, Cambridge History of English Literature, the Cambridge Medieval History, the Cambridge Ancient History and the Histories of India and the British Empire, and others.
Concurrent user limit: 2
Note: Access via Ebscohost Oct 2012
A comprehensive bibliographic index representing all types of material on Mexican-American topics and about Chicanos. The Chicano Database provides extensive coverage from the 1960s to the present, with selective coverage dating back to the early 1900s. Records added since 1992 have expanded the scope to include the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants. Portions of the Chicano Database have been published as the Chicano Periodical Index, covering 1967-1988; the Chicano Index, of articles and books added since 1989; Arte Chicano: An Annotated Bibliography of Chicano Art, 1965-1981; the Chicano Anthology Index; and the Chicana Studies Index: Twenty Years of Gender Research, 1971-1991. The database is produced by the Chicano Studies Collection, Ethnic Studies Library, University of California at Berkeley. (Updated quarterly)
Concurrent user limit: 2
Choice Reviews Online, is a searchable, web-based version of the magazine Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries. Geared toward college and university libraries, Choice offers timely, selective, scholarly reviews by experts in various fields within the Arts & Humanities, Social & Behavioral Sciences, and Science & Technology. The reviews cover books in all subjects as well as online and electronic media. By creating a personal profile, Choice readers can receive monthly alerts of newly published titles in their field as well as save and email lists of titles relevant to their work.
Chronicling America provides access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages. It is sponsored by the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for the Humanities.
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration. Further information is available from the publisher's website.
Note: New interface released July 2012. Details available here.
This is the electronic version of The Engineering Index, the world's premier link to the engineering literature. The database adds about 500,000 records yearly. Compendex covers over 5,000 engineering journals, conferences, and reports. All areas of engineering are represented. Approximately 22of the database is conference literature, and 90of the source documents are in English. About half the citations (from 2,000 journals and conferences) include abstracts and indexing. (Updated weekly)
Update (5/8/06): Now includes the Engineering Index Backfile. Including over 1.7 million records, the backfile covers the engineering literature from 1884-1968.
Data-Planet Statistical DataSets requires Java, so your browser may prompt you to 'allow' or install Java for it to work properly. Please note that Java does not currently work on Macs using Chrome.
DataSets aggregates over 590 licensed and public domain datasets provided by over 50 sources and makes that data available from within a single interface. Users scan the contents of these datasets, select subjects and variables of interest, and view the data in side-by-side tables and charts. The product also provides accompanying metadata in the form of citation records to provide details on how the data were collected and obtained.
Trial expires: 8/12/13
Please provide any feedback using this form.
Drama Online introduces new writers alongside the most iconic names in playwriting history, providing contextual and critical background through scholarly works and practical guides. The constantly growing collection meets the full range of teaching needs for theatre studies, literature courses and drama schools. From the epic to the monologue; ensemble to one-person plays; comedy to tragedy; the historical to the contemporary; and from the highly political to the profoundly personal, there is plenty to discover. Unique Play Tools with Character Grids, Words and Speech graphs and Part Books offer a new way to engage with plays for close study or for performance.
Note: New interface! Check out the quick start overview [pdf] and YouTube tutorials of the new interface.
Full text journals in education and related fields.
Incorporates Education Research Complete and Education Full Text with Retrospective Index
Education Source provides full-text and indexing for thousands of education-related periodicals, monographs, yearbooks, and more. It combines H.W. Wilson education databases and Ebsco Publishing education databases into a single, massive research tool. Further information is available from Ebsco.
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences (ELS) includes articles, essays, and news in the biological and life sciences. More than 6,000 illustrations are provided. Core coverage: biochemistry, biodiversity, cell biology, clinical medicine, developmental biology, ecology, evolution, genetics history, philosophy of science, immunology, microbiology, molecular biology, neuroscience, plant science, structural biology, and virology.Contains peer-reviewed articles commissioned from 5,000 world-renown scientists. All articles have a list of reference, some of which provide links to external Web sources. Appendix and glossary components provide descriptions of biochemical and taxonomical data, acronyms and abbreviations, synonyms, units, and other technical data. "Special Essays" were commissioned to address 50 "hot topics." By creating an account on My Profile, users may save searching histories as well as articles for later review.
Note: PDF downloads of ERIC documents are temporarily unavailable per notice from ERIC.
The ERIC database contains bibliographic records of research reports, conference papers, teaching guides, books, and journal articles relating to the practice of education. ERIC Digests are included. Covers the period 1966-present. Includes full-text links to Education Research Complete. (Updated monthly)
Note: PDF downloads of ERIC documents are temporarily unavailable per notice from ERIC.
The ERIC database contains bibliographic records of research reports, conference papers, teaching guides, books, and journal articles relating to the practice of education. ERIC Digests are included. Covers the period 1966-present.
Note: PDF downloads of ERIC documents are temporarily unavailable per notice from ERIC.
The ERIC database contains bibliographic records of research reports, conference papers, teaching guides, books, and journal articles relating to the practice of education. ERIC Digests are included. Covers the period 1966-present. This is a free version, with no full text. (Updated monthly)
European Patent Office
Full-text of European (EP), World (WO) and other patents back to the 1970's. Also links to individual European country patent databases.
Over 6,000 educational films available for immediate online viewing
Films on Demand is a library of thousands of streaming videos across all disciplines from Films Media Group. All Temple users can search and view films or specific segments of films. If you establish a user account from within Films on Demand you can also create playlists from the various films/segments for your own use or for sharing with other Temple users. 1
Concurrent user limit: 1
This database integrates four bibliographies—the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology, the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienzaand the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine—to create the definitive international database for the history of science, technology and medicine.
Note: New interface released July 2012. Details available here.
(Physics, Computing, Electronics, 1884-present). Covers all aspects of these subjects, in approximately 4,200 journals and 1,000 conferences as well as books, reports and dissertations. (Updated weekly)
Update (5/8/06): Now includes the Inspec Archive. Including over 800,000 records, the backfile covers the literature of physics, electrical engineering, and computing from 1884-1968. Corresponds to the print General Science Abstracts.
Trial expires: 5/22/13
Please provide any feedback using this form.
International Historical Statistics; 1750-2010 3-volume set is the latest edition of the most authoritative collection of statistics available. Updated to 2010 wherever possible, it provides key economic and social indicators for the last 260 years, serving as an essential reference source.
iPOLL is the most comprehensive, up-to-date source for US nationwide public opinion available today. A full-text retrieval system, the iPOLL online database is organized at the question-level, providing the tools to sift through nearly a half million questions asked on national public opinion surveys since 1935 and updated daily. (Description taken from the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research)
The Roper Center requires users to provide an email address as part of a free registration process in order to access the database.
Trial Expires: 6/30/13
JSTOR Plant Science is an online environment that brings together content, tools, and people interested in plant science. It provides access to foundational content vital to plant science - plant type specimens, taxonomic structures, scientific literature, and related materials, making them widely accessible to the plant science community as well as to researchers in other fields and to the public. It also provides an easy to use interface with powerful functionality that supports research and teaching, including the ability to measure and record plant specimens, share observations and objects with colleagues and classmates, and investigate global plant biodiversity.
JSTOR Plant Science strives to be a comprehensive online research tool for aggregating and exploring the world's botanical resources, thereby dramatically improving access for students, scholars, and scientists around the globe. It is useful for those researching, teaching or studying botany, biology, ecology, environmental and conservation studies.
(browse titles in Diamond Catalog) / Note: Now includes ASM Handbooks and ASM Alloy data (7/12/10)
5 new titles added (3/7/13)
Knovel Library provides Temple with online access to over 450 titles included in the following subject collections:
--Aerospace & Radar Technology
--Chemistry & Chemical Engineering
--Civil Engineering & Construction Materials
--Electrical & Power Engineering
--Environmental Engineering
--General Engineering
--Mechanics & Mechanical Engineering
--Metals & Metallurgy
--Oil & Gas
--Semiconductors & Electronics
Knovel expands the traditional ebook paradigm by adding the ability to interactively manipulate and search for content across this entire collection. Knovel's core technology is unique in that it aggregates text together with databases in an indexing structure that allows an unlimited number of products to work together. Users have the flexibility of navigating through e-References page-by-page or to search across the site and manipulate interactive tables, graphs, equations, spreadsheets, and other structured information.
Concurrent user limit: 1
LawInfoChina provides English versions of Chinese laws & regulations as well as representative court cases. ChinaLawInfo provides original Chinese language versions of the same resources.
Concurrent user limit: 1
Note: Proquest Congressional has moved to a new platform. Information about the new interface may be found here. Includes the U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection.
Provides access to the full text of congressional working papers and legislation, a wide variety of information about Congress, including member biographical and committee assignment information, voting records, financial data, and the full text of the Congressional Record. The full text of key regulatory and statutory resources is also included. The U.S. Serial Set module includes the full text of over 325,000 U.S. Government publications compiled under the directive of Congress covering the period from 1789 to 1979. The Serial Set captures every aspect of American life from the early 19th century onward, from farming, to westward expansion, scientific exploration, politics, international relations, business, and manufacturing. It includes Congressional reports and documents as well as executive agency and departmental reports ordered to be printed by Congress.
Use Proquest Congressional with U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection to:
* Discover a law's intent by tracing its legislative history
* Gauge Congressional attitudes toward current topics
* Find out how members of Congress voted on legislation
* Investigate the finances of members of Congress
* Monitor legislation and public policy on almost any topic
* Review the federal regulations that implement legislation
* Learn the makeup and mission of Congressional committees
* Access "Hot Bills" and topics of Congress
* Research various aspects of United States history
Note: Now called Data-Planet Statistical Datasets
Data-Planet Statistical DataSets aggregates over 590 licensed and public domain datasets provided by over 50 sources and makes that data available from within a single interface. Users scan the contents of these datasets, select subjects and variables of interest, and view the data in side-by-side tables and charts. The product also provides accompanying metadata in the form of citation records to provide details on how the data were collected and obtained.
Note: Now called Proquest Statistical Insight
Proquest Statistical puts millions of facts and figures at your fingertips. Well over 400,000 indexed tables of data from international, federal, state and private sources are available for search and retrieval, with tens of thousands more added yearly. In addition, LexisNexis Statistical provides online access to the following highly respected finding aids for statistical data:
International Sources: Index to International Statistics (IIS) 1983-
IIS abstracts and indexes key statistical titles from international intergovernmental organizations like the UN, EU, OECD, IMF, and World Bank.
Federal Sources: American Statistics Index (ASI) 1973-
The U.S. Government is the world's most important and prolific publisher of statistics. ASI indexes and abstracts statistical data published by all branches and agencies of the Federal Government, including both depository and non-depository publications. ASI includes federal agency publications that contain social, economic, demographic, or natural resources data, and a selection of publications with scientific and technical data.
State and Private Sector Sources: Statistical Reference Index (SRI) 1980-
SRI identifies statistical data published by consumer and trade magazines, private organizations, state government agencies, business organizations, independent research organizations, and universities and affiliated research centers. Publications covered by SRI contain important statistics on business, industry and finance, general economic conditions, government programs and politics, and social trends. SRI offers access to national data, such as production, costs, and earnings in major industries; statewide data, such as statistics on crime, health, or employment; data on foreign countries, such as world economic and demographic trends; and local or narrowly focused data, such as detail by county and municipality.
Mergent Archives is an online database providing you with access to a vast, indexed collection of corporate and industry related documents. Containing more than 180,000 documents covering over 100 countries and industries, Mergent Archives uses a reliable and easy to navigate system designed to meet your historical research needs.
Mergent Archives includes: Mergent's Full Collection of Digitized Manuals, Ford Equity Research Reports, Annual Reports, and the Industry Report Collection
Content from MINABS Online is now incorporated in GeoRef.
MINABS Online replaces the print journal Mineralogical Abstracts, formerly published quarterly with a separate annual index issue. MINABS Online is a database containing continually updated abstracts covering mineralogy, petrology, geochemistry, crystallography, gemmology, meteoritics and allied subjects.
Presents current monthly economic statistics for most of the countries and areas of the world. In addition, each month a different selection of special tables is presented showing annual and/or quarterly data on a variety of subjects illustrating important economic long-term trends and developments. Many of these special tables are also reproduced in the United Nations Statistical Yearbook. It is, however, considered useful to publish these data in the Bulletin as soon as they become available so that readers may have immediate access to the most current international statistical information.
The Mugen Project is a bibliographic database containing references to tens of thousands of Buddhist resources, ranging from film and audio recordings to academic books and articles to liturgical texts. The Project houses not only resources across a range of media, but also across an array of literary types, such as academic scholarship, popular studies from modern times, canonical texts representing the Buddha’s teachings, major treatises of Buddhist masters across time and place, the vernacular texts of local Buddhist traditions, and so on.
Trial Expires: 5/29/13
Please provide any feedback using this form.
National Anti-Slavery Standard was the official weekly newspaper of the American Anti-Slavery Society, an abolitionist society founded in 1833 by William Lloyd Garrison and Arthur Tappan to spread their movement across the nation with printed materials. A weekly newspaper published concurrently in New York City and Philadelphia (1854–1865), and begun during a time when the American Anti-Slavery Society was torn over tactics of how to go about emancipation, National Anti-Slavery Standard featured writings from influential abolitionists fighting for suffrage, equality and most of all, emancipation. It contained essays, debates, speeches, events, reports and anything else deemed newsworthy in relation to the question of slavery in the United States and other parts of the world.
Naxos Music Library is a growing library of over 165,000 tracks from the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues. The music tracks can be streamed at either 20kbps (FM quality) or 64kbps (near-CD quality) depending on the speed of your internet connection. Genres include Classical, Jazz, World, Folk, and Chinese. Biographical information on composers and artists, and album liner notes are also included.
Minimum Technical Requirements
PC user:
* MS Windows 98SE, 2000, XP with MS IE 6.0 / Mozilla 1.7.1 / FireFox 1 / Netscape 7.1 / Opera 7.53 and Media Player 9 / 10
* Browser Settings: Privacy = Medium, ActiveX controls = Enable, Cookies = Accept, Pop-up Blocker = Off, Sound Scheme = No Sound.
Apple user:
* Mac OS X 10.2.8 / OS X 10.3.5 with MS IE 5.2 / Mozilla 1.7 / Netscape 7.1 / Opera 7.53 / Safari 1.0 and Media Player 9.0 ; or OS 8.6 / 9.0 with MS IE 5.1 and Media Player 7.1
* Browser Settings: Privacy = Medium, Cookies = Accept, Sound Effect = No
Concurrent user limit: 10
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage is a comprehensive source of business and investment information, offering on-line access to popular Standard & Poor's research products including:
--Bond Reports
--Company Profiles
--Compustat Excel Analytics and Compustat International Fundamental Reports with five (5) years of extensive data and charts that can be downloaded directly into Excel
--Corporation Records
--Fund Reports (more than 14,000 mutual funds are included)
--Industry Surveys (back to 1998) with Trends and Projections (back to April 1999)
--Global Industry Surveys (back to 2004)
--The Outlook (back to 1996)
--Register - Executives and Directors
--Register - Private Companies
--Register - Public Companies
--Security Dealers of North America
--Stock Reports
Trial Expires: 10/13/12
See publisher's description
Incorporates the New York Times Index
Note: New interface! Check out the quick start overview [pdf] and YouTube tutorials of the new interface.
Online access to a wide range of primary source materials from the 19th century. Collections currently available are 1) Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange, 2) British Politics and Society, 3) British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture, and 4) the Corvey Collection of European Literature, 1790-1840.
Oral History Online, published by Alexander Street, is the most comprehensive online index of oral history collections in English, with access to full text, audio, video, or bibliographic citations for more than 2,000 English oral history collections from all over the world. The narratives cover thousands of subjects from the late 19th Century to present, including civil rights and race relations, labor history, African American history, women's history, immigration studies, political history, American Indian history, regional history, and more. Oral History Online provides keyword searching of more than 129,000 pages of full-text by some 4,300 individuals, as well as pointers to some 1,400 audio and video files and over 10,000 bibliographic records. Additional indexing also permits searching by narrators' age, race, occupation, birth and death dates; by interview subject and place; by repository information; and many other search criteria.
New interface Sept 2012 / (browse titles in Diamond Catalog)
Oxford Reference Online includes well over 100 subject and language reference sources from Oxford University Press, including many titles from the Oxford Companions Series. Browse or search single titles, specific subject areas, or the entire collection.
Patai covers all aspects of the chemistry of functional groups - an essential tool for the organic chemist - including physical organic chemistry, analytical chemistry and techniques, reaction mechanisms, chapters on synthetic pathways, reactions and strategies as well as applications in drug discovery, pharmaceuticals, biochemistry and molecular biology.
Full-text of European (EP), World (WO) and other patents back to the 1970's. Also links to individual European country patent databases.
Provides full-text online versions of back issues of selected French journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Please note that download options are not available during this trial period.
Trial expires: 5/22/13
Please provide any feedback using this form.
Popular Culture explores the dynamic period of social, political and cultural change between 1950 and 1975. The resource offers thousands of colour images of manuscript and rare printed material as well as photographs, ephemera and memorabilia from this exciting period in our recent history.
Note: New interface January 2012
Project Muse provides access to full-text journals, as well as ebooks from university presses. Temple does not have access to all available ebooks.
Note: Proquest Congressional has moved to a new platform. Information about the new interface may be found here. Includes the U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection.
Provides access to the full text of congressional working papers and legislation, a wide variety of information about Congress, including member biographical and committee assignment information, voting records, financial data, and the full text of the Congressional Record. The full text of key regulatory and statutory resources is also included. The U.S. Serial Set module includes the full text of over 325,000 U.S. Government publications compiled under the directive of Congress covering the period from 1789 to 1979. The Serial Set captures every aspect of American life from the early 19th century onward, from farming, to westward expansion, scientific exploration, politics, international relations, business, and manufacturing. It includes Congressional reports and documents as well as executive agency and departmental reports ordered to be printed by Congress.
Use Proquest Congressional with U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection to:
* Discover a law's intent by tracing its legislative history
* Gauge Congressional attitudes toward current topics
* Find out how members of Congress voted on legislation
* Investigate the finances of members of Congress
* Monitor legislation and public policy on almost any topic
* Review the federal regulations that implement legislation
* Learn the makeup and mission of Congressional committees
* Access "Hot Bills" and topics of Congress
* Research various aspects of United States history
Includes NAACP Papers and documents relating to slavery and the law in the American South
Provides digitized versions of primary source materials previously published in microfilm. Temple has purchased the following modules:
NAACP Papers: Board of Directors, Annual Conferences, Major Speeches, and National Staff Files
NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Education, Voting, Housing, Employment, Armed Forces
Slavery and the Law
ProQuest Legislative Insight is a Federal legislative history service that makes available thoroughly researched compilations of digital full text publications created by Congress during the process leading up to the enactment of U.S. Public Laws. The legislative histories are comprised of fully searchable PDFs of full-text publications generated in the course of congressional lawmaking. These include the full text of the Public Law itself, all versions of related bills, law-specific Congressional Record excerpts, committee hearings, reports, and prints. Also included are Presidential signing statements, CRS reports, and miscellaneous congressional publications that provide background material to aid in the understanding of issues related to the making of the law.
Proquest Statistical puts millions of facts and figures at your fingertips. Well over 400,000 indexed tables of data from international, federal, state and private sources are available for search and retrieval, with tens of thousands more added yearly. In addition, Proquest Statistical provides online access to the following highly respected finding aids for statistical data:
International Sources: Index to International Statistics (IIS) 1983-
IIS abstracts and indexes key statistical titles from international intergovernmental organizations like the UN, EU, OECD, IMF, and World Bank.
Federal Sources: American Statistics Index (ASI) 1973-
The U.S. Government is the world's most important and prolific publisher of statistics. ASI indexes and abstracts statistical data published by all branches and agencies of the Federal Government, including both depository and non-depository publications. ASI includes federal agency publications that contain social, economic, demographic, or natural resources data, and a selection of publications with scientific and technical data.
State and Private Sector Sources: Statistical Reference Index (SRI) 1980-
SRI identifies statistical data published by consumer and trade magazines, private organizations, state government agencies, business organizations, independent research organizations, and universities and affiliated research centers. Publications covered by SRI contain important statistics on business, industry and finance, general economic conditions, government programs and politics, and social trends. SRI offers access to national data, such as production, costs, and earnings in major industries; statewide data, such as statistics on crime, health, or employment; data on foreign countries, such as world economic and demographic trends; and local or narrowly focused data, such as detail by county and municipality.
Covers back-of-the-book indexes and article titles to subject encyclopedias and reference works. As of March 4, 2004 there are more than 2,900 titles online. Additional titles are added weekly.
Trial expires: 5/26/13
Please provide any feedback using this form.
ReportLinker is a professional search engine that provides easy access to market research reports and industry statistics. SWOT analysis is a strategic planning method used to evaluate the Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, and Threats involved in a project or business venture. It is particularly helpful in identifying areas for development. PEST analysis stands for "Political, Economic, Social, and Technological analysis" and is used to evaluate the macro-economic environment of strategic management. It is a useful strategic tool to help understand market growth or decline, potential strategic positioning and direction.
iPOLL is the most comprehensive, up-to-date source for US nationwide public opinion available today. A full-text retrieval system, the iPOLL online database is organized at the question-level, providing the tools to sift through nearly a half million questions asked on national public opinion surveys since 1935 and updated daily. (Description taken from the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research)
The Roper Center requires users to provide an email address as part of a free registration process in order to access the database.
(browse titles in Diamond Catalog) / Concurrent user limit: 10
Full-text library of over 4,000 information technology books from publishers including O'Reilly, Que, New Riders, Addison-Wesley, and Sams.
Concurrent user limit: 10
Trial expires: 5/10/13
Please provide any feedback using this form.
SAGE Navigator is the essential social sciences literature review tool. Covering almost 300 topics, each introduced by an internationally renowned academic, it guides users through the seminal pieces in the literature, while the interactive features provide a new perspective to the field. SAGE Navigator gives students, researchers, and faculty the resources they need to kick start their literature search and review process.
Hundreds of scientific, technical, social science, and medical journals and thousands of ebooks published by Elsevier.
The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960?1974 brings the 1960s alive through diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary.
The Sixties is centered on key themes that provide insight into the issues that shaped America and that still resonate in today?s debates: Arts, Music, and Leisure; Civil Rights; Counter-Culture; Environmental Movement; Gay and Lesbian Rights; Law and Government; Mass Media; New Left and Emerging Neo-Conservative Movement; Science and Technology; Student Activism; Vietnam War; and Women?s Movement.
When complete, the collection will contain over 150,000 pages of fully searchable text and associated audio and video material. These materials are frequently rare and hard to find; they include diaries, letters, and oral and written histories from both newsmakers and ordinary citizens caught up in the times; government documents, hearings, and other official papers; and papers and histories from radical and other organizations and groups; plus songs, photographs, ephemera, and more. To supplement the primary material and to facilitate the teaching of research using primary sources at the university level, The Sixties at completion also includes a collection of critical documentary essays. Compiled by leading scholars in the field and assembled around a major theme or research question, each critical documentary essay consists of annotated primary-source documents, linked by an original interpretive essay that provides historical context and insight into the sources.
Note: New interface 11/26/12.
SpringerLink provides online access to hundreds of journals and books across many disciplines, with a focus on the sciences. Note that Temple does not have access to all content.
The TLS Historical Archive is the improved and expanded new edition of the TLS Centenary Archive. The new edition enables users to full-text search every page of every issue of the TLS from 1902 to 2008, discovering a wealth of material in 300,000 book reviews, film reviews, play reviews and more. With this complete online facsimile edition, users will also be offered:
--A dynamic new user interface reflecting latest web 2.0 technology
--Improved online version of the published index
--Schedule of annual updates
--Full text searching - not available in the TLS Centenary Archive
The Temple University Libraries Streaming Video collection is composed of heavy-use reserve titles licensed with perpetual rights. Titles come from distributors such as Kino Lorber, California Newsreel, and Media Education Foundation. All titles and their URLs are also listed in the Diamond catalog.
The current edition of Twentieth Century North American Drama contains the full text of 319 plays by 53 playwrights. Each play is itself richly indexed, allowing both keyword and multi-fielded searching. Some 25 of the plays are published here for the first time, including a number by major authors. The structure of this database is unique; it has been built around the core elements of drama - not just the authors, but the performers, the productions, the companies, the theaters as well as the plays themselves. The database indexes information on related productions, theaters, and production companies, as well as selected playbills, production photographs and other related ephemera. This database allows users to examine and understand North American Theatre of the past century in ways that have never been possible before.
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance. Records are selected from many of the top titles within the discipline, including Journal of Urban Affairs, Urban Studies, and Canadian Journal of Urban Research.
Full-text of over 400 current journals published by Wiley-Blackwell. The great majority of journals (bot not all) are available to the Temple community online.
Note: Temple Libraries will cease subscribing to the World Bank e-Library after 12/31/12. Much of the content included in World Bank e-Library will continue to be available to Temple users from the World Bank's Open Knowledge Repository.
The World Bank e-library is an online, fully cross-searchable portal of over 5,000 World Bank documents. The collection consists of over 2,000 World Bank publications and over 3,200 Policy Research Working Papers, plus each new book and paper as they are published.
The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products. More detailed information is available from the World Bank.