Based on the American Antiquarian Society’s landmark collection of American broadsides and ephemera, this full-color digital edition offers fully searchable facsimile images of approximately 15,000 broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and 15,000 pieces of ephemera printed between 1749 and 1900. These often rare, printed documents vividly capture the daily lives of earlier Americans in a way that no other material can. * Features 30,000 fully searchable images of printed items never intended to last * Provides unique perspectives on the history, culture and daily life of earlier Americans * Includes such genres as sailing cards, envelopes, confessions, playbills, campaign literature, menus, music programs, and many others.
Covers all major areas in the life sciences, with broad coverage in molecular and cell biology, pharmacology, endocrinology, genetics, neurosciences, infectious diseases, ecology and organismal biology.
*Cited reference searching with a summary table to easily keep track of citation counts *Seamless access through one powerful search platform to unique citations not available elsewhere *Over 5,300 high quality journals and serials back to 1926 *Over 21 million records *Over 2.6 million documents from meetings and conferences *Abstracts for over 90% of the journal material *Non-journal coverage, including abstract meetings, as well as books (serials and monographs), and U.S. patents.
Created in cooperation with the American Antiquarian Society—one of the world's largest and most important newspaper repositories—this collection will provide students and scholars with easy access to more than 150 years of Caribbean and Atlantic history, culture and daily life. Featuring publications from 22 islands, Caribbean Newspapers will provide complete facsimiles of every available issue, including eyewitness reporting, editorials, legislative information, letters, poetry, advertisements, obituaries and other news items. Most of these newspapers were published in the English language, but a number of Spanish-, French-, and Danish-language titles are also provided.
This database features newspapers, government documents, and rare printed materials covering politics, society, and daily life during the American Civil War period: 1840-1877. For researching and teaching the most important event in 19th-century American history, Readex offers The Civil War: Antebellum Period to Reconstruction. This unique resource features more than 150 newspapers from all regions of the United States—plus approximately 50,000 government documents and 4,000 rare broadsides and pieces of ephemera. Together, this diverse collection of primary materials provides unprecedented local and national coverage of American culture, politics and society from 1840 through 1877—a tumultuous time that redefined a nation.
Current Contents Connect® is a current awareness database that provides easy Web access to complete tables of contents, abstracts, bibliographic information, and abstracts from the most recently published issues of leading scholarly journals, as well as from more than 7,000 relevant, evaluated websites.
Note: Dance in Video, Volume II has been added to this collection!
Dance in Video is a searchable database containing streaming video files of dance productions and documentaries by influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. Videos can be browsed by people, role, ensemble, genre, and venue. Material types include documentaries, editorials, instructional, interviews, and performances. Database users may create their own custom playlists and video clips.
Access an array of data across subjects and regions, providing a comprehensive picture of research output to understand data in context and maximize research efforts. The Data Citation Index on the Web of Science provides a single point of access to quality research data from repositories across disciplines and around the world. Through linked content and summary information, this data is displayed within the broader context of the scholarly research, enabling users to gain perspective that is lost when data sets or repositories are viewed in isolation.
Value-added patent information from Derwent World Patent Index® as well as patent citation information from Patents Citation Index®. Derwent Innovations Index® facilitates rapid, precise patent searching, letting you conduct patent and citation searches of inventions in chemical, electrical, electronic, and mechanical engineering. This resource merges the value-added patent information from Derwent World Patents Index® with the patent citation information from Derwent Patent Citation Index®. You can use additional descriptive information and coding to quickly grasp a patent's significance and its relationship to other patents. Reduce duplication of R&D; track competitors' activities; detect and avoid patent infringement; identify potential gaps in the marketplace and possible licensing opportunities.
DARE is different from other dictionaries in that it does not include words that are commonly used throughout the United States, but rather focuses on the regional aspects of our language, documenting words, phrases, and pronunciations that vary from one place to another. Widely viewed as the American equivalent of the Oxford English Dictionary, DARE represents the full panoply of American regional vocabulary—from Adam’s housecat to Zydeco. Contradicting the popular notion that American English has become homogenized, DARE demonstrates that our language still has distinct and delightful local character. Whether we are talking about foods, games, clothing, family members, animals, or almost any other aspect of life, our vocabulary reveals much about who we are. DARE celebrates the color, richness, and evolution of the English language across America.
Note: First-time users will be asked to create an ICPSR MyData account from a campus computer to allow for dataset downloads. Please see ICPSR Resources for Students for more information.
An international consortium of more than 700 academic institutions and research organizations, the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community.
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
Temple University is an ICPSR member institution, allowing our patrons to download datasets directly to their desktops. First-time users will be asked to create an ICPSR MyData account from a campus computer; thereafter, you will need your email address and password to download data.
Please see ICPSR Resources for Students for more information.
The PBS Video Collection assembles hundreds of the greatest documentary films and series from the history of PBS into one convenient online interface.The diverse subject matter of the included films makes this an important collection for the study of history, science, business, technology, performing arts, anthropology, psychology, politics, health, and literature.
Note: Section II just added! Also, this resource is no longer called Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and Protest.
Contains substantial collections of original archival material (manuscript, typescript and ephemera) covering popular culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975. Among topics covered are Changing Lifestyles, 1950-1975, Youth Culture, Student Protests, Mai '68, Popular Culture (TV, Music, Movies), Civil Rights (Women's Liberation, Minority Groups), the Space Race, Consumerism, Vietnam War, and Nuclear Disarmament.
Your connection to science, technology, and engineering research information from the U.S. Department of Energy. Now you can visit one site for all the great science information previously searchable in the Energy Citations Database (ECD) and the Information Bridge (IB). SciTech Connect provides access to all the information available via ECD and IB. The basic search at SciTech Connect employs an innovative semantic search capability to help you retrieve more relevant information. You can sign up for an account at SciTech and take advantage of extensive customization features.
Note: Access now includes Book Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1994-present), Current Chemical Reactions (1994-present), and Index Chemicus (1994-present)
Includes: Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED), 1900-present; Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), 1956-present; Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A & HCI), 1975-present.
Note: New interface! World News Connection is now hosted by Eastview.
World News Connection is a full-text database produced by the U.S. Department of Commerce's National Technical Information Service. WNC indexes English translations of thousands of foreign media sources, including political speeches, television programs, radio broadcasts and articles from newspapers, periodicals, and books.
Coverage includes July 1994 - December 2013 (see FBIS Daily Reports for coverage back to 1974), and sources were translated and added to the database within 72 hours of their publication. Regional categories covered include: Central Eurasia, East Europe, East Asia, West Europe, Near East & South Asia, Latin America, China, and Sub-Saharan Africa. (Updated daily)
Zoological Record is the world's oldest continuing database of animal biology. It is considered the world's leading taxonomic reference, and has long acted as the world's unofficial register of animal names. The broad scope of coverage ranges from biodiversity and the environment to taxonomy and veterinary sciences.